Why It's Important To Give Yourself Time To THINK!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago


In this crazy, Do IT NOW World, We never seem to slow or stop what we are doing. We look at our planners for the next task, and the next one. Or we rest in front of the TV mindlessly watching. Not really thinking of much of anything. Letting it consume us.

We need thinking time.

Sometimes people wonder how, Something horrible happens and the next day I'm back on my feet with ideas how to destroy the problem. It's not a fancy trick; I just give myself time to ponder. I'll lay on my bed, Thinking about the issue on hand, I'll calmly shower letting the problem roam my brain Until I start to produce ideas. At first, they are the same old ideas I've always had. Then Comes the ideas that are impossible. Then gradually the ideas that could work, Began to the surface and I can weight the possibilities.
Being successful in life is about adapting to whatever environment is thrown at you, And failing quickly so you can move on to the next thing.

We are hurting our creativity.

When we don't' give ourselves thinking time, We hurt our creativity. We start to fall into a rut without realizing it, And before we know it. We are packing up our crap because we just lost our job, Our ONLY reliable source of income. When we don't stop to analyze what we are doing, and whether or not it's a smart thing to do. We set ourselves up for failure. Our ability to be creative and come up with smart solutions is altered. And we become a slave to whoever can pay our bills.

How Can I just sit there?

Sometimes it seems counter productive just to sit or lay there staring at the wall, But it's important to do that sometimes. It's healthy. It's a form of meditation. Jot the things on your todo list if your worried, Then get with the thinking! You will be more productive later because of it, Because you'll know exactly what needs to be accomplished to ensure you get what you want! Sometimes we head towards a goal thinking that it will let us have what we want out of life, but we are going the wrong direction in life.

Sort:  

I agree we should all take time to think through stuff :)

Linking to one of your other posts about free exercise, I do most of my thinking when I am out riding my bicycle. I do that 4 or 5 times a week for rides of an hour or more. Uphill (when I am not looking for orchids) is thinking time. It takes my mind off the pain of working the hill.

I LOVE THAT! I do that too, Except the Orchids part, They don't seem common in Utah :( But I do look at the nature!
Exercise is a great way to think things through while taking advantage of the physical aspects.

Thank you so much :)

Ok, the porcupine is way too creative, is this one of your pieces @kaylinart?

No sadly :( I need to make more stuff like that!

No worries, porcupines are over rated, kind of a prickly subject at best :)

On a mindful note, wouldn't it be cool for you as an artist and open minded individual to create a similar theme such as @jamtaylor with photography and you being artistically talented to host a weekly theme of art using specific media as the theme to create works of creativity once a week/month giving out small prize awards for creative mindfulness. Picking you because I love your creative mind and see that you are being rewarded because of your talent...just a though, I have them once in a while...:)

Omg I love that idea! I need to post more art on here! For some reason I keep writing regular posts lol.

You are doing amazing posts, don't stop! I am just giving you more work...lol, like we don't have anything to do! Creative topics are you keep it up, though we sometimes need outside influence to open our talent jar up.

Very wise, sadly I am not doing this often enough... will add in my New Year Resolution for 2017, hehe! Thank you for sharing @kaylinart and Happy New Year!!!

Heheh good! Happy New Years to you as well :)

Its 5:45 am now. I've been awake for almost an hour already. I wake up this early because this is the only time of the day in which I can sit quietly and think (and read and write a little). This is so important.

Aww reading and writing is so good for your health! It's good to have a weird sleep schedule at times! Just be sure you don't have too much alone time. I used to work graveyards and it wore me down after a while, I never saw a lot of people.

I fully agree, meditation is a good source of creative thinking; You may want to participate to the january brainstorm on steemit ?
https://steemit.com/business/@chrisaiki/2017-steemit-collaborative-business-step1-brainstorm

Thanks for sharing that :)

Nice post and tips! I also use the shower trick to relax and to promote ideas flowing. I never pay attention to the type of ideas, but now that you describe this, I can relate a lot.

"At first, they are the same old ideas I've always had. Then Comes the ideas that are impossible. Then gradually the ideas that could work."

I love the shower one :) I'm glad you can relate hehe

I also like to go to the beach and stare at the ocean or just lay down with my eyes closed. It helps me to think, and it' s very relaxing too. (not good on winter weather...)

you are cool is this work. I like it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69