Why Increasing Your Typing Speed Can Change Your Life!

in #life7 years ago

pexels-photo-26897.jpg

Typing is something that most of us do every day without even thinking about it. Studies suggest that the average person spends 3 hours typing at a computer for work or pleasure.
Why is this skill so overlooked in our schools and our daily life?
In school, I was only required to take a typing class for a couple of months. I learned the basics then they cut me loose. This didn't seem like enough.

Especially if we dedicate so much of our time to it.
Imagine the benefits of increasing your typing speed even a little bit. You could potentially get back weeks back out of a year, Just by investing in your typing skills.

Decide How fast you want to type

Fast typers overall look more capable in the workplace than slower ones. So by knowing how to type you can have an advantage when it comes to certain jobs. It also can help you get more of your thoughts online, and allow you type up Steemit posts much faster.

Check out free online speed tests

There are a lot of speed tests out there for free so that you can put your typing to the test! Where are you at right now? How much do you want to improve?
fake-daylight-gobo-praca-notes-73988.jpeg
Like most things in life, You can improve your typing with practice!
There are a lot of fun typing Games That are free that you can try to build up your skill.
Then there are obvious things that can help with your typing, Such as....

  • Posture
  • Positioning your fingers correctly on the keyboard.
  • Focusing on the screen.
  • Focusing on accuracy first, Then work on developing that speed.

Imagine how much more you can get done in the day, Just by committing about 30 minutes per day to a fun typing game, you can increase your speeds too so you can get more done on the computer.

Why Is it that we tend to overlook such valuable skills?


Sort:  

We were given a proper typing class in the 8th grade back in the early 90's. Then, in high school I decided to write a story which became a 150-page novel (never published, was just fun to write). Both of those experiences are what honed my typing and grammar skills, with a speed that tops out at about 85 wpm.

Thats how my school was too! LOL.
I graduated 2012.
WOW you are super fast! I wonder how much faster you can get. I think I'm in the 50's or 60's. I need to check hehe.

Great post, this reminds me of my teacher who typed like a cheetah running while starring at her students.
Again, great post

Thank you ! Wow! What!? That sounds creepy LOL

Check out Typeracer :)

Thanks for the information.

Check out free online speed tests

I didn't even know these things even existed :p

You didn't ? Hehe :) you should check them out. They are incredibly useful.

Sure. I will :)

You know, I was just getting quite quick at typing and then they changed it from fingers to thumbs!!

OMg! Texting I didn't think of this! Yeah most people use phones and such now. But some of us still use computers LOL.

So thats why you can post so much great content on Steemit. It would take me half a day to write only one post.
But then ofcourse I don't got your content skills either :)

Aww So sweet!
It takes practice honestly. I've been writing almost everyday for a year. I've takensmall breaks, Like a week or so. But Steemit dramatically improved my writing skills.

Great massage. I type quite fast but there is still room for improvement.

I think there is room for improvement for everyone.

Do not underestimate the role of a good keyboard for your typing speed!

The typical boring board is not the best.

Also you may want to use something to support your wrists. Strongly advised to do this in fact, because if you start having regular pains it's too late.

Exactly! What kinds of keyboards do you recommend?

That depends on your hands ;)

Generally it is a split keyboard tilted to the sides (center higher) and going down where your fingertips are (most keyboards have feet at the up side but should have at the lower side).
Also it should have a form that guides finger.

Just place your hands on the table like a lump of flesh and look, remove any felt pressure and how they are ;)

And if that does not help, this one looks quite good ;)
https://shop.keyboard.io/

In this day in age, Typing Faster = Thinking Faster

Exactly :) Hehe

Hello @kaylinart

This is the kind of post that makes me wish that steemit has a read it later button 👆. It is very resourceful.

Typing speed is something worth investing in because we do it everyday, in certain situations it can even be a life saver.

Followed You

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49