When To SELL! When To DONATE!

in #life7 years ago

youth-2012403_960_720.jpg

Getting rid of your stuff and decluttering can raise somewhat hard questions. When I have something I want to get rid of, Should I sell or donate it?

WE could all use that extra money!

Selling your stuff can help you earn some extra money for your next trip! But it isn't always sunshine and rainbows.

The CONS Of Selling Stuff!

When you are looking at items you want to sell, You'll need to look up how much they are SELLING FOR, You can check Ebay to see if people are bidding on them, Or you can check Amazon and see if it's a popular item. If the item is not selling, You may not be able to sell yours.
woman-1927606_960_720.jpg

You Don't Get What you paid for it!

Instead, You get what people are WILLING TO PAY FOR IT. It doesn't matter if you paid 1,000 for it. If it's selling online for only 10.00, you might be out of luck. So you have to decide if you'd rather donate or sell it.

You May Not Make Anything

You can sell your items on websites like eBay, Thred up, Mercari, Tradesy, Facebook, and Amazon. If your item is a lower priced item, The fees from these sites may overpower what the item is even worth. Leaving you with nothing, Then you miss out on that potential tax deduction you COULD HAVE gotten by donating it anyways!

Time Consuming

Have you listed stuff before? It's one of the most time consuming things ever. They sometimes ask so many questions about your product. You have to decide how much your time is worth to decide if it's worth listing. If you have 100's of cards, It may be better to bundle them. Sometimes you get more money that way.
Also it will be less time consuming.

The Pros of Donating

The obvious pros of donating, Is that you help others. Directly or indirectly. The non profits, May resell your stuff to provide food to the homeless. Or they may give the items directly to the homeless.

Less time

Throw all your stuff in a bag, And get rid of it. I love the thought of that. My time is valuable and I don't always want to sell the lower priced items.

Tax deduction!

You can usually claim a tax deduction for these donations! This will help you save money on your taxes, So it's kind of like you getting money!!! Make sure to check into your countries laws to see if it's allowed. Usually, it's market value, So Basically what someone would pay for it.
wedding-1594957_960_720.jpg

Get Rid of More Faster!

Getting rid of things faster is easier!
You don't have to have items you no longer want "sitting around" until they sell. Instead, You can take it into your hands and make them disappear right away!

What do you plan to declutter from your home soon?


Sort:  

I have too much stuff and gradually I am donating it as I have the time. Good post.

Hehhe Good :) sometimes gradually is the best way!

Just a month ago, we actually made a huge donation of all sorts of computers, electronics, and other items to a group called Urban Renewal Corp. (urbanrenewal.org) in New Jersey. They seem to be doing some really great work helping and educating the homeless and others in need.

They also recycle or find ways to reuse everything that's donated, which is great all around because even stuff that may ordinarily end up in landfills, they can find others ways to re-purpose it.

Plus, as you said, you are also eligible for a tax deduction, and it all goes towards a great cause as well!

I have a lot of tiny stuff in my house like key-chains, miniature dolls, but I don't think I can sell it, especially when the postage fee itself is expensive. But I would donate unwanted clothes ;).

Aww so true! Items like that are complicated. You could always try and bundle!
I hate how shipping prices keep going up, It's becoming less affordable every day.

If you can sell your stuff and make a profit, great. But if you just need to declutter and have a place to donate, then go for it!

I need the money but I always give my stuff to the food shelter which also gives household items and cooked l clothes I can't do different I've been there years ago when I needed help 🕊 and ❤️

Aww I'm glad that you choose to help!! Hopefully that will come back 10 fold for you :)

Thank you! But I don't expect anything I'm just helping others like they helped me have a great night!

The good idea! Our time is more expensive than things. We help people and we get a lot more positive emotions. I like what you do!

Thats true selling is much more time consuming. I didn't know that you can get tax deduction for donating clothes!

Nice post and sometimes you really need to get rid of stuff lol very very true

i never considering selling or donating stuff
i haven't such things hahaha
and honestly i dont really care, when friends come along and find some use of something i own, but not using it intensively,
i let them have it and i never expect something in return
it will come back somehow. i guess ^^

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $28.63 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66391.72
ETH 3189.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60