What Minimalists Ask Themselves Before Making A Purchase.

in #life8 years ago

I’ve talked a lot about minimalism throughout my blog, and boy has my brain changed as I’ve been making a huge effort to become fully minimalist.

I look at everything with intense scrutiny,

  • Must I have it?
  • What would happen if I didn’t have it?
  • Can I replace it later, If I decide I can’t live without it?
  • Why do I continue to insist on having this?

Asking your self a bunch of questions whenever you want to make a purchase no matter how small, Will enable you to keep the clutter to the minimum. I have gone through stages of my life, Where I have decluttered, Then later my room is more full then it ever was. It’s because I didn’t change my beliefs. So my core behaviors didn’t change.

You can’t just make a tiny change and expect everything to be different! You have to dig deep and change your brain.

Buy everything carefully and consciously. Make sure you need it before you get it. Having less gives you so much more in life, You don’t have to waste as much time cleaning or “managing” stuff. I feel the burden of stuff more and more everyday. It’s incredible how much time you end up wasting over one stupid thing. As the holidays are rapidly approaching I am amazed by the desire people, have to accumulate more. They give gifts that sometimes won’t ever be used; They buy things for themselves that will just take up space.

It’s one thing if you need that item in your life, But try taking a step back and taking in all the crap you have Do you need it?

Looking for Steemit Gear? Get a New Steemit Shirt from Amazon for only 10.99

Sort:  

Gee...you're on a roll!! This was me shopping the other day.....I was strong....I really was. I wasn't fazed by the christmas music, the smells and bells. I bought what I went in for and got out fast.
I have a list to reduce the "clutter" in my house as well. To live simpler, with less. I have accumulated so much stuff over the years that I could probably help 5 families set up their kitchens. We have alot of refugees and that's where it's all going - to the place that helps them get set up.
Those apples look delish.!

Yes :) I've been trying to write more posts everynight before bed lol
That is good . I'm so glad you are using your stuff to help others! That would be hard for someone to come here and not have anything! SO I bet they appreciate anything that they can get.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

good thoughts, thanks

Thank you :)

Nice to see another minimalist here. Enjoyed the post.

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67044.89
ETH 3251.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64