The Struggles of Being Self Employed

in #life8 years ago


Being self-employed is fantastic. But Like everyone else we have our own problems and struggles we have to deal with. For some people staying at a job may be the better option. But for others, it might be better just to quit our jobs permanently. I've been self employed since August, And financially I'm thriving. But my brain continues to be in this weird state. I keep expecting a phone call from my old supervisor, To tell me that my vacation is up and I have to go back. Since I was 16 years old, Ive been working a mix of full time jobs up until I turned 23 and now I am free! I can't imagine what it would be like for someone in the job area for much longer.

These are some common challenges many self-employed or entrepreneurs have to deal with.

  • Failure to accomplish desired goals

I feel this often. There doesn’t ever seem to be enough time in the day. It runs out so quickly. Then I’m left with a sinking feeling about the lack of stuff I Was able to get done. You really need to decide what you want out of the day, The bare minimum sometimes. Then you have to ensure you actually get it done.

Not Getting things done

It’s so easy to get distracted and do things that seem more interesting. Like a regular job, Some things you have to do every single day, it gets old. It gets tedious. But you have just to work through it anyways. I don't think it's ever possible to completely eliminate the things you don't LOVE! Sure you can outsource the bulk of it. But some of it will always be on your shoulders.

Increasing Competition

There will always be competition; You have to be able to adapt and strategically do better than your competition. You can’t just roll over and die.
I struggle with this with my coloring books, Because I don’t always have the skills to produce coloring books that can beat my competitors so it can be hard, But you have to fight through it.

Poor business relationships

Networking is important, And knowing the right people can give you extremely good advantages. I don’t know a lot of people yet, But I hope to start meeting more people. For example, With me on Steemit. I would never have joined this site without @stellabelle . Her and I started talking because we read the same book “choose yourself” by James Altucher. We both ended up in the Choose Yourself group on Facebook. I was then later introduced to Steemit. Even having relationships with people online can make a big difference. Don’t under estimate them.

Stress and Burnout

Self-employment is scary and stressful. You have a lot of pressure to perform everyday, and you don’t have a boss looming over your head to get you to get your work done. It’s also easy to burn out after working yourself half to death, Pulling those all-nighters, etc. I had somewhat of a burnout with blog posts here on Steemit, I was writing 4 posts a day, then I didn’t have the motivation to write more, although I had a nice break and now my motivation is coming back, But with me prepping my two businesses for the holidays I may have to keep cut back to a certain degree until things start to slow down.

It’s important to find what makes you happy, What can you consider as a “Break.” For me, a book, A nice run, Bike ride, Hike, Or even just drawing is a sufficient break for me. Just make sure you don’t spend too much time on break.


Looking for Steemit Gear? Get a New Steemit Shirt from Amazon for only 10.99

Thank you pixabay for all the photos

Sort:  

Yep Lin, the struggle is real! :D

I've been working for my own company for many years. At first, the business involved me going to places with my crew, so once I made the commitment I had to be at a certain place at a certain time. Now I work from home, when I want to, so it is more of a challenge to get as much done as I should!

One thought on the coloring books, just a thought... In my experience, it is important to establish a Brand for yourself -- decide where you want to place your business among the competition. Decide what niche you want to fill and how you want to present yourself. I see you do cute animal coloring books and then swear word coloring books. I wonder if it might help to focus on one or the other, and then find and target that particular audience, and become known as the best coloring book creator for that type of coloring book.

Whatever you do, I wish you much success!!! :)

So true! I love that you brought up niches. I've been thinking about choosing one of the other. Your right, I've been diversifying a little too much! I should at least make a series of books before I start to move into another Niche.

"Everything is hard before it becomes easy" and the first step is always the hardest, so: good luck and much power! You´ll make it! ;-)

That is very true! Thank you :)

I have been self-employed for 8 years. Love it. The only thing I hate about it is that I feel like I can never go on holiday. I do of course but it never feels comfortable. It feels like the shit will hit the fan the moment I leave the country.

Ha! I understand that feeling. It's tough to check out for more than afew days without wondering about the onslaught of whatever will be waiting for me when I return.

Oh gosh! I felt kind of like that when I left out of state for a week trip. I was constantly trying to get onto my laptop. But the internet in the hotel was so bad I couldn't do anywork on it. I feel like you just have to create a list of everything that needs done while your gone and hand it over to a VA

I have been self employed for over thirty years and relate to all you have said here @kaylinart.

What it has really done for me is, help me think clearer and be more responsive to changing dynamics.

Once you develop that ability, it is less scary, especially in this uncertain time.

I feel like I'm slowly developing it ;) Sometimes I feel like when a huge change happens I can adapt pretty quickly! That is really impressive that you've done it for 30 years! I admire you for that.

Good points. I would love go go back to being self employed. For now working for another. Upvoted.

Aww what happened? I hope I can stay self employed. I feel like I've gone over a lot of hedges with it and i"ve survived quite a bit. I've had to really diversify my income.

Just took 3 years off doing carpenter n painting for my relative houses.
Trying to figiure out what business to start next.

really like this post, kinda touches on what i just wrote about. nice one. upvoted

Thank you :) Checking out your stuff now!

I wish my wife did not have to go to work, there are reasons she is working instead of me at the moment, yet we both feel stuck with one of us needing a job just to make ends meet. We do see a change coming our way, but the anxiety of waiting for it to happen is driving us both crazy.

Aww I know how that is.. sort of! Just do what you can and work hard on your projects. Sometimes It takes a long time but once you get it, It's very rewarding.

Great post! I really enjoyed reading it .

Keeping busy and motivated during retirement is hard too. When I'm not getting dressed to go to work anymore it's easy to hang out in my flannels and schlep around.

Agreed! I think getting dressed in your normal clothes, Even if you go no where can actually help your productivity.

Excellent post, good point of view, @ kaylinart congratulations on this wonderful material

Thank you so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54