The Stress Of Going On Vacation!

in #life7 years ago

thailand-beautiful-2417028_960_720.jpg

People always see vacations as relaxing. Sometimes I don't necessarily agree with that! Sometimes the before part of the vacation is quite stressful! But it's all part of the fun of going some place new!
railway-2439189_960_720.jpg

My Crazy Month

This month is crazy! This weekend I'm going to Wendover Nevada, With @Woundedknee @Treeshaface and our friend Scott.
So that's going to be a ton of fun!

In a couple of weeks, I'm going to Denver, Colorado with my boyfriend.
And there are mini events in between like the 4th Of July, My boy friends birthday. I helped my grandpa move some of his stuff yesterday, and I might be going to Utahs best Amusement part Lagoon This upcoming Wednesday.
birthday-1114056_960_720.jpg
So today is a bit crazy as I prepare for tomorrow, Which is both my boyfriends birthday and the fourth of July!
I still haven't wrapped his presents yet. LOL.
Psshhh... Don't tell him.
But I got him some new games, The new Harry Potter Movie, lots of chocolate, Some new shorts, and some granola bars. Although I gave him a gift card And one of the games early! Although I ran out of birthday paper, So I'm wrapping everything in different colored tissue papers.

Self Employment Gets Scary!

For those of you who don't know, I'm self-employed. I run my Steemit blog, A T-Shirt Business, A Coloring book Business. And I used to have a drop shipping E-Commerce store, But I shut that one down.

Entrepreneurs are always portrayed as people laying on the beach sipping delicious drinks. But many people don't realize what goes on behind the scenes. I work over 12 hours a day seven days a week. Even when I'm on a roller coaster, I'm scraping my brain for good ideas for the next project!
I can't help it. It's just my thought process.

The one thing I miss most about having a job, Is being able to just "call in" I am then free to do whatever I want with my day. I can hangout, Watch a movie. But when you are self-employed this isn't the case.
Some of the things I have to do before leaving on vacation:

  • Write a couple of extra posts for Steemit :)
  • Make sure my T-shirt designs are uploaded and ready to go, So while I'm on vacation, I can take 10 minutes each day to submit them real quick.
  • Ship all items to my customers.
  • Deep clean my whole room, And empty my fridge. ( I like to come home to a clean environment because after vacation I'm always super tired!)
  • Set up a bunch of ads on my products to get them selling while I'm gone.
  • Do lots of research, so my freelancer will have lots to do.
    barbie-2417460_960_720.jpg

While it may not sound like much, I'm about to go into the 2,000 tier with my shirts soon, Which means I'll be uploading 40 new designs a day. While I don't think it will be possible for me and one freelancer to get that much done. I'm certainly going to do the best that I can. I also have to do those things TWICE. Because I have 2 vacations instead of one coming up, Which is strange because I am not used to planning for more than one big thing!

What do you do before a vacation?

I'm super excited to go on vacation! Don't get the wrong idea. I'm also grateful I get to go! And I'll be sure to update you guys on the experience. There's just a lot on my to-do list right now haha

U5drLYNss12v1YzQs191E524dyPC88B_1680x8400.pngU5drMrxVHvve1uYfbEPsAArZ2FPTGVB_1680x8400.pngU5du6Tg4LRagCMftytdJokqaJrouYou_1680x8400 (1).pngU5dszFNSZhy2tgQ1W7xAikndfzLTAFv_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

At times i wonder why people believe vacationing is soo relaxing...It's a lot of work with fun on the way. Relaxation is staying home with not much to do but smoke a J. haha

I just randomly say screw it and go. :) Have some fun trips!

I should hehe :) All my trips are fun anyways hehee.

My job is being your #1 fan and it's not easy. You are producing so much that it is wearing me out. :-)
Now I think I'm all caught up so I am taking a break. Seriously you really do amazing work on your post. See Ya!

I agree. Planning for vacations is stressful. Especially with two kids. Just staying home and saving money is more appealing to me these days. And I remember the days of running a business. I recall the constant stress that I could never ignore. It stuck with me at all times. If I had something that I felt needed done, I would sometimes sneak out of the house at 3 am to go to my shop and work while my family slept. No fun at all. I gave that up for now, until I get a few things in order and some debt paid off.

I feel you on the self employed part.. so hard for me since if i go somewhere I can't even set up anything, now I found steemit and am going to Thailand in a weeks time. Hopefully I can make some good travel blog about it but it sucks knowing you are in reality paying double because of the no income period :/

I agree with u Kaylinart, it always tiring before vacations and after lol , but the good part the fun u have in between. ⛱⛱

I also have to tell you , I liked the to do list you put before leaving .
Nice one.👍🏻

Good luck and enjoy ur vacation 🤗

Right? It's perfect! Thank you .

Most welcome !

Can be stressful when you are running a business. I have assigned people to manage mine. But still there is some stress in managing the trip, and looking for a place for my dog to stay.
Some people stay in resorts for their vacation, that seems relaxing. But i prefer vacations with a lot of places to explore

I'm the same way, I always avoid touristy areas they seem less fun.

@KayLinArt... Kay, You are such a Great/Imaginative writer... AND You must have 6 arms & hands because You can accomplish more than anyone I've witnessed here on Steemit AND always with a gentle, graceful smile...

Have a Great Vacation... GOD knows You certainly deserve one !!

Hey @kaylinart, let me ask you: are you selling on Merch by Amazon?
My main sources are my eCommerce dropshipping store and recently Steemit (still a small part of the income).

Usually my vacations starts at the late August and I travel sometimes till mid Dec, but usually I'm home by end of October.

Ah, I'd also ask you - have you bought some Steem Power in the last few months or last year?

Thanks,
@steemfluencer

Yup! I'm on Merch. Wow you are able to travel that long? That sound amazing.

This is not a real vacation with days off. I'm working almost every day, because you know... it's a dropshipping business. There are various events or places I like visiting regularly. Sometimes things are tough.. I'm still a single entity in my company.

I bought Steem power last year, When It was under 1.00 but not recently.

that was a very smart decision .. it's still smart, I guess I should act faster.

You deserve a rest from yourself as it seems :D

Right? I'm too much of a workaholic LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39