The Goals Of Next Year.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago


I'm not one of those people, Who makes a giant list of New Years Resolutions, Where I attempt one or two. Then give up the rest after January.

I make a really big effort to accomplish them. At the beginning of this year, I had only two coloring books published. My goal was to have at least five more by the end of the year, And I published at least 15 or so more.

I'm disappointed that New Years Resolutions have gotten such a bad rap over the recent years. Goal setting is a really good way to get what you want in life, Also when you start at the beginning of the year, you have a better chance of achieving those goals.

According to Statistic brain

For those of you who write books, Here are the top new year's resolutions.... This is one of the reasons I wrote a book about minimalism, Which I hope to launch soon.

Top 10 New Years Resolutions

  • Lose Weight
  • Getting Organized
  • Spend Less, Save More
  • Enjoy Life to the Fullest
  • Staying Fit and Healthy
  • Learn Something Exciting
  • Quit Smoking
  • Help Others in Their Dreams
  • Fall in Love
  • Spend More Time with Family

Here is the percentage of people who accomplish those overall goals....
According to Statistic brain

News Years Resolution Statistics

People Who make New Year's Resolutions 45 %
People who make resolutions infrequently 17 %
People Who Never Make Resolutions 38 %
% Of People Successful At their Resolutions 8 %
% Of People Who Have Infrequent success 49 %
% Who never succeed and fail it every year. 24 %

I started my resolutions Early.

December hit me pretty hard, HOW IS IT DECEMBER ALREADY! It was January yesterday!! That's when I realized I need to take some serious action!
I checked my weight on the scale... I was the highest I've ever been. So I started working out more and counting calories at the beginning of December, I've lost 10 pounds so far.

I also have a goal to double my income this year, But if coloring books aren't a thing this will be difficult. Last year I remembered Jumping up and down at my 100.00 in royalties for the month. This month I've managed to earn 2,500 It's baffling.

And It corresponds with the 80/20 rule.
80% of that money came from 20% of my books! Meaning I need to start choosing books more wisely.

What are your resolutions? And What type of action plan do you have in place to ensure you WILL accomplish those goals?

Sort:  

I wonder if NY resolutions get a bad rap because they're not specific enough - they're woolly. Whereas goals are more specific and measurable (or should be). Instead of Staying Fit and Healthy my intention is to get back to walking 20-30 minutes every day, and using our home gym 3 days a week. There, I've said it - you can hold me to it ;-)

WOw! Love this! So true. I love your goals. I've been trying to aim for 1500-2,000 calories per day, And do some kind of workout each day as well. So far I've done it almost everyday this month.
I agree that the more specific it is the better chance you have of accomplishing it.

Congratulations on your coloring books! It sounds like they are doing well for you. Are those 20% the ones that you thought would do the best?

Yes my best ones are coloring books! But surprisingly not the ones specifically I thought would do well. Like the animal ones did much better than I thought.

That's interesting. You said your 80/20 results suggest that you need to choose your books more wisely. But I think it means you are wise to keep putting out a lot of books, like you did this year. If it's hard to tell what will perform the best, more choices should have a better chance. Just like all your posts on Steemit! Here's to the continuation of the coloring book trend for 2017! : )

True! Thank you!!!!
But I am trying to get better at gauging what sells better, So I can at least be in the ballpark, And Of course checking the amount of competition on a certain subject. Because too much competition can make it harder to successfully get sales, Unless of course you have a massive following, Which i'm working on that right now.

From your posts, it seems like you are pretty good at assessing and adjusting. It will be interesting to see 2017 evolve for you!

There are two goals for next year. I don't call them resolutions because that title doesn't jive with me. And the goals are selected to make sure I finish the two projects I've started.

  1. Launch a kickstarter for my card game

  2. Write another poetry book, but this time focus on whatever is blocking me from loving people more.

(1) I have the prototype deck made and I've played about 5-6 times. The rules and instructions have been refined and I hope to launch the project in January. I just need to clean up the project page and make a better video.

(2) This process has really been hard as i have to look at everything and anything i've experienced that would make me less trusting or despise certain relationships. The goal helps me write poetry to undo anything that is a barrier to loving people. It is a significant shift from what I have posted most of the year and I am happy with what has been written so far.

I have to write about 80-90 more poems before i finish goal #1. But i have done it before and if i stick to around one poem per day I should be able to do it.

Agreed! The Resolution name has gotten too much negative rep LOL.
Those are fantastic goals, and I loved that you outlined how you will accomplish them! I look forward to seeing your book and card game :)

In all honesty, I have given up on NY resolutions. I have been heavy my entire life and I have tried so many times to lose weight. Try as I might, I never seem to be capable of mustering the discipline or willpower necessary to amount to any lasting changes. My best record was three months before I gave up and fell back into old habits. It is as if I am tethered by a bungee cord and the harder I push, the harder I am pulled back. As they say, "Old habits die hard." Maybe it isn't impossible to kill a habit, but it sure feels like it. Does it get easier?

Aww man! I feel the same way sometimes. Habits are really hard to break. Do you have like a soda habit or something?
Personally I work around my habits at times. I love soda and I have to drink at least 1 liter a day to function, While many experts would tell me to stop with my soda habit, I know that would be too hard.
So while losing weight, I add in my soda calories each day.
I also bought a soda stream, Which costs about the same as name brand soda, And i use that. The flavor of the mountain dew/fountain Mist is pretty much the same. And it's less than 1/3 the calories (Real sugar)
1 liter of soda stream mountain dew is only 200 calories, While each can of mountain dew is 170.

If you have addicting habits you can still accomplish your goals.
I also like fast food often, I just make myself workout extra to make up for the unhealthy food.
While this is not the best way to lose weight, I don't feel "starved" of anything. So the pounds fall off.
What are your addictions?

I really appreciate your point of view. I think I just get discouraged after putting in so much effort and making sacrifices and then I don't see the results I want. I really like your approach of making your goals work for you. Maybe I will give it another try this year and figure out a way to make some compromises where I know I struggle the most.

Yes!! Thats the way to go. Once you find a great method that works for you it works out easier.

Congratulations on the successes that you have already accomplished! It is something you should be proud of!

Also congratulations on all your future success that you will accomplish from the goals you just now set! Upvoted and following!

Thank you :)
I'm checking out your blog as well :)

Your welcome, I appreciate you taking interest in what I create ^_^

post this time next year and let us know how ya did!

I will! Maybe I'll even post in 6 months, I usually accomplish my goals quickly ;) I'm down 10 pounds from the beginning of December.

I keep them few and work hard to achieve them. It does give you such a sense of accomplishment!

So true! It really boosts your self Esteem.

I admired that you took the NY resolution so seriously even at the last month, many people will just give up and i am one of them. Need to try harder in 2017, thanks for your inspiration @kaylinart!!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.18 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 30 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87