Stop Being Afraid Of Deadlines!

in #life7 years ago

shutterstock_303348116.jpg
Deadlines can be a helpful way to get a lot of things done. But they can also work against us in many ways.

Stop Procrastinating

This is one of the reasons it's great to set deadlines a little closer than you'd want. It's easy to procrastinate something when it's a couple of month or year stretch. Like long-term goals are a good example of this. It's so easy to put the discomfort of chasing those goals off. Because it's so far away.
This is also why it's important to have mid-term and short-term goals that go along with our long-term goals. So we are more likely to be on track to get those long-term goals.
make-up-2137800_960_720.jpg

Lose Your Sense Of Urgency

When you set deadlines that are far away, you lose that sense of urgency. Instead of accomplishing the goal sooner, You are more likely to accomplish it later. Just because you can.It doesn't seem as urgent or important. This is especially true when we don't have a deadline set at all for our desired goal. When things have no deadline, they often don't get done. Haven't you noticed you are more likely to gravitate to the homework assignment Or go to work? Well, that's because it has a deadline. Why cut yourself short with the most important goals of your life? Not your employers, Not Your Schooling, But your own goals that get you closer to your purpose in life, Your dreams.
denmark-2334304_960_720.jpg

Conclusion

Deadlines can be good or bad; Long-term deadlines can sometimes cause more harm than good and having no deadlines also causes problems. When setting a deadline for a goal, I always recommend giving yourself a little less time than you'll think it will take. But don't go overboard. If you are never able to accomplish your goals on time. That will send a message to your subconscious that you aren't very good at getting things done. It will also hurt your self-esteem.
If you need to accomplish something you've already accomplished before, Try setting a timer and seeing how long it takes. I often do this with my cleaning/Chores.
For example, It takes me about 25 Minutes to clean rabbits cages,
About 13 minutes to clean my room.
And another 10-15 minutes to do the dishes. So I expect myself to get all that done in an hour is a reasonable goal.
Laura lemonss hehehe.png

Sort:  

Deadlines, deadlines, deadlines. Never enough time to get my make-up on. I stress on that every day.

I set a Deadline 55 Years Ago to have the Kennedy Papers Released. I see this week that I exceeded my Deadline.........................................

Politics is a game of cards and sometimes your only card is a suited trump.

I feel like we shouldn't set long term deadlines because everything can just change in a second and I'm not sure why but when you plan long term , it never goes your way

Wow! Yeah you've got a point there. I do have long term goals. But of course life loves throwing curve balls at you, And there is no way to know if something will get in your way.

This was my old way with assignments, would leave it for the last few weeks haha! Now I try get a head start so even if the deadlines are closing in, having some things done makes it a lot easier. :)

Oh good! I'm glad you changed your way of doing it! I always hated when I had assignments due the next morning. I had to get in the habit of doing them almost right away.

Well when you get into software development, you realise you should get a head start. Got to allow for the times you spend an hour working out an error, just to realise you had a typo! 😂

Deadlines help you prepare for the worst situation, but one thing to note here is not to push them to the extreme last moments as you might get carried away!

Exactly! It happens all the time

Procrastinators of Steemit unite ... tomorrow!

RIGHT? hahahhah XD

Good advice. I find myself getting way too stressed over deadlines.

I love me some deadlines, I tend to be overzealous with my dates and times and rarely hit them but it does really motivate me up to that point otherwise I end up putting it off one day then the next then the next.

Procrastination. I am a slave of it. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61