Quick Book Marketing Tips For New Authors.

in #life8 years ago

Many new authors don't know where to start when they publish a book, and it gets to the marketing stage.

According to the book "The Book Marketing Bible."
-Only 20% of Self published authors make money,

I wrote a few other articles about this subject
How I Got My Kindle Books To Sell Like wildfire
How To Stay Motivated to write
How I Design My Book Covers On Gimp

What Is going on here?

It's the lack of marketing!!

You aren't going to publish a book, Then immediately become rich and famous. It doesn't happen. The Game Of Thrones Series didn't become popular until now; It was published 1996.

Because of the ease of self-publishing, You have a lot more competition then ever before! But at the same time, Many of us wouldn't even have the opportunity to publish a book. The decentralization of the publishing industry makes it possible.

Make Marketing about your customer

I know I mentioned it in my other article, but it's truly important. Too many people make the marketing about themselves.

What the hell are you trying to do?

Sell the book to yourself?
No, sell the book to them! What do they like/hate! Figure that out. Listen to their feedback.

  • People want to buy on their terms. They don't want to feel like they are being "sold to." They like to have their control over their money.

Make a list of your book

All the themes and topic mentioned in your book, Add them to your list. Now share that information. Give people a chance to see what they can expect from your book.

Compose Tweets

Make sure to # Hashtag, Different areas to market your book. Don't be like every other annoying author. Don't SELL THEM your book. Ask them a question. Make if fun! Then add a link to your book, Target people who are naturally attracted to your book. If you write a cook book, Don't market to people who eat out all the time. They may not want to change their current habits.

I can't emphasize this enough, "If you help enough people get what they want, you will get what you want. "

Book Marketing Mistakes

  • Often release books with loud, persistent announcements over social media.
    We all have that one friend, Who tries to sell makeup, Body products. And they are literally like this annoying little fly.
    They Never go away
    Don't be that fly. Be polite, friendly, Let people know about your book, But don't be all annoying either.
  • Not blogging, Then blogging some more.
    Hopefully, this won't be a mistake that people on Steemit make, I hope we are more motivated than that. But people like the consistency. If we don't provide consistent blog posts, You can scare people away.

  • Solve someone else's problem.
    Too many authors are focusing only on their problem.
    "Not making enough money."
    Focus on what other problems people have and go with that. What can you do to provide value for another person?

  • Have fun while writing your book
    Add personality, Add excitement. People can tell when you are dragging your feet in the dirt with your writing, and they won't appreciate it one bit.

Other ways to promote your book

  • Blog posts
  • Infographics
  • Q & A's.
  • Podcasts,
  • Special reports
  • Videos

Try Book Bub

Book Bub is hard to get on. But authors like Steve Scott Have found a lot of value from getting on there.
Yes, it costs money, based on the topic of your book. But I've heard how worth it is. I have yet to get on Book Bub for my books, But sadly it's for Kindle books only, So I can't put my coloring book on there.

Go to Book Fairs

Go to book fairs and hand things out, You don't have to get a booth. You can even offer to split costs with someone. If possible try to provide something for free.

Don't let yourself fall into the 20% who will never make money off their book. Get out their and promote your book, So you don't have to go without.

Thank you Pexels for the great photos

Sort:  

Nice Job!!!!!!!!!

I did youtube videos reading from my book and talking about the content, that worked great :)

Thats also a great idea :)

This is a really descriptive and informative post! What's your background? I'm curious to see how you learned this

I taught myself! I was working part time at a job I didn't like and I wanted to become self employed so I started learning. One way you can learn more is by looking at the work of Steve Scott.

Very good info I will take a while to absorb. Thanks!

👍💙 great post @kaylinart

thank you :)

Thanks for the advice! This seems helpful not only for authors, but for anyone creating and distributing their work. Will save it for later use as well

true! and Thank you, I think Steemit should provide a library so we can save our favorites.

Great information for a big hurdle....marketing!

Thank you! Marketing can be tough, So as I learn new things I'll add to it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44