My Progress With Quitting Soda!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

156482_421073981237603_985396823_n.jpg

You probably saw that instead of drinking soda, I was hoping to switch to caffeine mints.
Well, it's been eight days since I've gotten the mints.

(Thats me in the photo above :) )

For those of you who didn't see that post, It's a new product called Essential Mints Their goal appears to help people quit energy drinks, Soda, and other caffeinated products by having mints you can take every day. The mints are really good and give you a burst of energy; They also work great for those who need some extra caffeine each day.

My Addiction To Mountain Dew

I've been addicted to mountain dew for about 11 years now. Many people don't see that as such a big deal.
But I realize that drinking soda none stop is a big reason I struggle with my weight (Obviously). Throughout the years I've been trying to lose weight, And I consider myself pretty active overall.
I go running every day; I Love hiking. And I eat pretty healthily most of the time.
I eat homecooked meals. And yet, here I am overweight.
giant-rubber-bear-1089612_960_720.jpg

My Progress thus Far

Over the last week, I have successfully cut my soda drinking in half. And I'm working towards cutting it back even more. While I avoid those awful caffeine withdrawals, I haven't been able to escape the sugar withdrawals!
I've never imagined less sugar than I'm used to could make me feel so sick. I feel tired all day, and I don't seem to have any energy. I'm hoping by drinking water eventually this will go away and I'll be more energized.

Even though I've been tired and gross feeling, I managed to run 2.2 miles last night at a much faster speed than normal. Which was awesome!

Still keeping my head up!

While I haven't been able to cut back more, I've successfully maintained the half each day. So I'm proud of that! Hopefully, this is an addiction I can get rid of permanently! I may start eating more fresh fruits as a way to combat my sugar cravings! I hope it helps!

U5drBu9TLeqefSZCkckx4hetbgXAhHG_1680x8400.pngU5dsPutnTkgsKTGGvXZgkVLbedrFVim_1680x8400.pngU5du6Tg4LRagCMftytdJokqaJrouYou_1680x8400 (1).pngU5dszFNSZhy2tgQ1W7xAikndfzLTAFv_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Awesome!
I drink about a 2 liter of dew a day.
I tried quitting once, but I couldn't do it!
So I quit smoking instead.
A pack of newports a day for 14 years was easier to give up than my mountain dew...
I'll get there one day xD

Keep up the good work!

Wow!! Good job! Thats amazing! I actually read somewhere that smoking is supposed to be easier to give up than sugar!
I am at 2 liters a day too. I used to drink 4 a day. Which is quite scary!
Hopefully I can cut it back to 1 per day.

Sugar is proven to be more addicting than cocaine! You will cut back and you will quit! This is the only mindset you need to keep. Otherwise you will not get to that goal. You can do it.

From personal experience, quitting either sucks! haha
The most important thing is to have the resilient and unwavering desire to quit.

I'm sure you'll get there. :)

Soda is terrible, its awesome that you're trying to kick it. I'm sure you could compensate with other sugars and still come out ahead to ease the transition. Honey roasted almonds or something, it'll still be less sugar and some good stuff along with it.

Exactly! It is terrible! It makes me sad that I allowed myself to become so addicted in the first place. Im still looking for the perfect substitute.

Try carbonated water. it'll take awhile to get used to but I love it, nothing but water and it feels like soda going down when it's super cold.

I drink 2 cups of coffee per day due to work stress, is it too much? What do you think?

Maybe you should try more by doing the running exercise that way it'll reduce a little

I Should! I'll have to run more that way I'll drink more water and be too full for soda.

You give the Pavlok a go! I used it to quit smoking. (I do content for them now)

Just head to www.pavlok.com :)

Thank you :) I"ll check that out! Congratulations on quitting smoking!

Honey & real maple syrup can help you get that sweet hit when trying to break the sugar & HFCS addiction. Both actually have some health positive attributes & yes, fruit will definitely help!
I'll have to check out the mints. I'm addicted to the True Lemon flavorings when I need a taste with my water. They have a few calories work of sugar (I think 10 in 32 ounces) but they're mostly sweetened with stevia. I haven't had soda in so long that I miss it.
May have to keep an eye out for a real ginger ale or rootbeer, then it's medicinal, or so I tell myself. :P
Great job cutting back, that withdrawal process is no joke!

That is great @kaylinart! Never drink soda, it is horrible for you. Not only your health but your mind also. When you change your diet it is surprising how many wonderful things happen.

Anything sold to you processed is not good. Quit all and go all naturelle!

Good for you @kalinart! It's a long battle, but starting is better than just giving in!

I found that using the Crystal Light energy drink packets helps me a lot. One of those in a bottle of water in the morning gives me that little bit of caffeine I need to avoid those caffeine withdrawal headaches.

I keep those at work. At home I still allow myself a diet mountain dew on the weekends. But those are going to have to go soon too.

I need to look up these mints. Hadn't heard of them before.

Thanks for sharing!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65