Losing Weight Without A GymsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago


As a frugal person, I don't like the thought of paying for a gym membership. And you certainly don't have to. With only a little money, You can buy pretty nice workout stuff, Or Just go with your body. You can do a lot to lose weight that way. Here are some tips to help you avoid the expense of a gym.

Youtube

I made a recent discovery; I've wanted to lose some weight, and I started in Early December. Sadly With the snow coating the ground, Jump roping and Running can't be done outside.
I'm lucky enough to have an elliptical and treadmill in my house, But that gets boring real quick. I also am tired of the Jillian Michaels video that I've done so many times!
Try youtube! PopSugar Fitness Lets you "sample" workouts by a bunch of different trainers! You can try a bunch of new stuff. Or Find a trainer you like and buy their videos. I'm so grateful they are offering this Because I felt so stuck in the winter not knowing how to manage my weight.

Running

For those of you without snow, Or during the warmer months. You can go running. There are tons of running trails and parks. I run up and down a crosswalk which has helped give my legs a nice shape from the incline. Use the stuff around you as a gym. If you don't like running, Try it with some music. That seems to make it more fun! For those of you who are like me, Who end up running on concrete. Make sure to get some good shoes that will help cushion your knees. I have some knee pain from the constant concrete running!

If you can, Look for something more soft, Like grass, Or woodchips. If you don't like running Or aren't in shape for that, A brisk walk will do well!
There is a nice selection of running shoes on Amazon!

Jump roping

Like I mentioned earlier! Jump ropes are WAYYYY cheap! You can get a nice one on Amazon for under 10.00; Most people burn up to 800 calories per hour while jump roping. So even if you only do 10 minutes, you can rack up the calorie burn fast! So go out and try it! You'll love the results.
Heres a nice one for 7.99

Kettle Ball, Hand weights, Resistant bands

I like these workout things because they are small And easily stored in a small area of my closet. Of course, you can go all out and buy a weight set, But until you know for sure that you'll stick with what you are doing, You should start small, And build your way up.

It makes strength tougher, But funnier.
I have this kettleball
Make sure you get a lighter one to start out with, You don't' want to hurt yourself. Sure, 20 pounds may sound light. But when you are doing exercises with it, It can destroy you.
Hand weights are similar to Kettlebells, But you usually get 2. More people are familiar with these, And as far as balancing. They are sometimes easier.

Conclusion

You don't have to go to a gym to lose weight or get fit. In January many places will probably advertise one-year memberships, But as I covered in my last post. Many people end up staying on track for only a couple weeks. So be sure to avoid them if you may end up giving up on your weight loss goals. Opt for a one-month gym membership if necessary to see if you are fully committed.

Sort:  

I've been doing running 40 minutes 5 times a week for almost 15 years now,
daaaam whatever you do it does not get fun, but as you mentioned you can make it endurable . but the result in unbelievable, you are always on a shape aaaaand in a good health
suffer 40 minutes a day and feel relaxed,happy, satisfied , confident the rest of the day

Aww I've done the same thing as you have! It works. I feel like my constant exercise keeps me feeling great like you said.

exactly! unlike what people think the best that you get from exercising(specially running), is the satisfaction and great feeling which stays with you till you skip a training session :D
then remorse and regret comes around :))
to me it really works like this , either I feel great or miserable, there is no between for me :)

So true!! I'm like that! sometimes it sucks to always be one of the extremes. That is why we need feel great all the time.

exactly! :)

If you stay with it, a TRX is a nice addition to the home equipment if you have space to hang one (watch out for counterfeit TRXs on Amazon/ebay). Lots of options for body-weight exercise + flexibility work with those.

Ohhh Thanks for this! didnt' think of that one :)

Loading...

You can lose weight just by changing the way you are eating.
I've lost around 8-10 kg in the past 3 months just by changing my eating habits :).
Basically losing weight is burning more calories than you are consuming.

you are right, but with this method the body is going to go to starvation phase(,it is a mechanism in body when the amount of calorie that your body gets is low ,your body thinks 'this is it, I have to adapt myself with the new situation' ). this is where your metabolism decreases and the calorie you burn gets even with the calorie you receive. the solution is that you get calorie but you burn it as well, you can not get in a good shape(you might get thinner but definitely not fitter ) without exercising
unfortunately being in a shape takes some efforts :/

People tend to forget that our earth is the gym - the earth is our turf! Stay Active

Solid advice right here - saves finances more than most people will ever admit

Opt for a one-month gym membership if necessary to see if you are fully committed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55629.86
ETH 2914.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28