Less Really Is More!

in #life7 years ago

shutterstock_444923386.jpg
During the holiday season, I can't help but be brutally reminded how obsessed people are with stuff.
Black Friday craziness, Huge online sales. I mean I shouldn't complain Because I sell a TON of products on Amazon. So I make a nice chunk of profit. But at the same time, It's kinda sad to see that Christmas isn't about anything but stuff.

Why Are We So Obsessed With Stuff?

I Get it, Physically possessing something makes people happy. But think about the last time you got something new, How long did it take for you get "over it." And not feel very excited about the item anymore?
Probably pretty quickly.
Then you need your fix again. So you go out And buy something else. Clogging up our lives with so much worthless crap.
But every year it happens again, We buy all this junk. We give it away. Then we receive more junk. Some of it may be used a few times, But ultimately it collects dust, until we are forced to get rid of it, because it's simply in the way.

book-1986286_960_720.jpg

Our Obsession With Stuff Can Be Harmful

I hate it when people say they can't "afford" to save or invest their money. But their house is full of useless crap.
You can sell it; you can donate it, having less will allow you save more.
Just having more stuff, Not only hurts your financial goals. But the physical space it takes up, has tripping hazard written all over it.

Does Stuff Make Us Happy?

I feel like once we have what we NEED. We can be happy with just that. I've been noticing as I've been downsizing and working towards a minimalist lifestyle. The less I have, the easier and more convenient my life is. And the happier I am. So If you feel unhappy, Maybe try and donate things you no longer need. You may find yourself becoming much happier because of it.
DQmYAHaEJ4aFmGXXfv5Wv8dHbym7i8YQydPUbWmewQTcfTS_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Great Ideas. I have a lot of cloths that I don't wear anymore! I'll be giving a lot away... Just taking up space...

The things you own, own you.

WOW! I love that quote. It's so truee!

Truly less is more. If you didn't have it would you even know you missed it?

Man, you're such a positive influence, finding another post of yours is always a delight :)

"Simplify, simplify, simplify..." - Thoreau. A quote that sums up a lot of your post, I think. Words to live by...

Resteemed! Keep up the good work!

@kaylinart I like how you the tell the truth about STUFF...........................

Great post, thanks! Personally, I'm happy when my conscience is clear and I can sleep well. I found that this is the only way I can dream in colors. Because everything we are and all that remains after the movie is over is that tiny diamond hidden deep deep inside... all the rest will fade. No one can bring the TV set upstairs :)

The more we want the less we have

own you
Fabulous one!!!

Your article is very accurate. Less really is more a lot of the time. If you take a really good look at all your "stuff" you would probably prefer to have the money back on most of it. The novelty wears off and it just ends up sitting collecting dust.

We have sort of had a forced downsizing with moving into the tiny house and I have not missed the majority of my stuff that is packed away. We also purged and donated a lot of stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62164.65
ETH 2439.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67