Is Pluto A Planet?

in #life7 years ago

universe-1044107_960_720.jpg

I hate this argument, I do. When Pluto was considered "Not a planet." I had a different reaction that most people have: I was happy! Because deep down I always felt that Pluto shouldn't be considered a planet.
planet-1781402_960_720.jpg

What are the facts?

Pluto is nothing more than a Dwarf Planet. Unfortunately, they did a vote on whether or not they should consider Pluto a planet. Which is something that should NEVER happen in science?
This almost led to the belief that we could "decide" whats best for science When Pluto doesn't match the required criteria for being a planet.

What is a planet

For an object to be considered a planet, IT must have three characteristics.

  1. It must orbit around a Star
  2. It must be mostly round.
  3. It must have cleared it's neighborhood for orbit.
    While Pluto successfully fits, 2/3 of these. It hasn't cleared its neighborhood for orbit.
    At first, I thought these qualifications were a little silly, Even though I still feel that Pluto is a dwarf planet. But they make sense.
    pluto-1315109_960_720.jpg

If Pluto IS A PLANET, How many planets do we have?

For people fighting to call Pluto a planet, You realize Pluto is in the Kuiper Belt, Along with a bunch of other bodies right?
Pluto is smaller than some of that stuff. Such as Eris. Then Makemake and Haumea are only slightly smaller than Pluto. Does this mean we should classify all the Dwarf planets as regular planets?
We'd have over 900 in our solar system alone!

Lets not waste our time

Calling Pluto, and the 900 other "Dwarf" Planets, Planets. Gives us this expectation, That we should study all of them in depth. As bad as I wish we had the resources, and ability to do that. It would be unreasonable.
New Horizons studied Pluto; Pluto wasn't left out!! Happy?
Imagine if instead of exploring further out there, we only focused on tiny bodies in our solar system?
We'd learn so little information that we could apply directly to humanity!
It's important for us to understand the deeper parts of the universe, To understand why we are here, And if there is life out there. These things would dramatically change humanity as we know it.

So no! PLUTO IS NOT A FREAKING PLANET!

I upgraded my badges! Some of them are a little early! But I know I'm going to have them soon :)

Thank you @elyaque for the awesome Badges!

Sort:  

Aww man, Thanks for ruining my whole article! Like You just proved me wrong in every way!
LOL

LMAO!!

I need to watch this show! I haven't watched it much! This is crazy XD It makes me wonder if alien forms really are sucking planets dry!

@kaylinart you have no idea what you are missing out on! Rick and Morty is an awesome, mind-fuck, comedy (with at least 5 jokes per minute).

You have to watch it Kaylin, check it on Netflix when you have a spare hour or two :-)

Cg

I'll have to ! I love family guy already hehe.

Haha, I came to put that exact comment on :-)

Cg

This is Rickdiculus !

Personally, I like Pluto as a planet because Childhood reasons and it has an atmosphere. However, by scientific definition, it is not and cannot be a planet.

There have been arguments by astronomers to change the definition in order to allow Pluto to be given Planet status, but as you pointed out, that definition would add about 1 200 (not only within the asteroid belt) new 'planets' to our solar system.

Exactly. And sense many of the objects in the Kuiper belt have similar compositions. I think they'd be relatively "boring" planets. And it would be something we'd have to update constantly. Because if Pluto is a planet, Does that mean all the Kuiper objects, No matter how small are planets? we really have to draw that line somewhere.

Our moon would technically become a planet as well.

It would!! Our moon a planet seems sillly LOL! I understand your desire to consider it for childhood reasons. I sort of feel the same way, But I've embraced it, That it cannot be a planet.

Yep, a dog can't be a planet. #doglivesmatter

So true! I think we are being really mean to Pluto. Thats animal abuse!

Yep! The oppression must stop! To the barricades! Viva la Pluto!!!
:D

lol!!

Great article, and I agree with you. Upvoted & followed (just a minnow here) haha :p

Thank you very much :)

No idea, but my five year old son says it has Ice Volcanoes!!
How cool is that!!?

It does!! It's amazing :) hehehe

Poor Pluto. From hero to zero, thanks for clearing that up Kaylin!

No problem :)

10 years ago it is, now pluto called as star cause too far from sun

What? When ?

Pluto is a planet? In light of all you have written, I wonder why it is so necessary for it to be considered such. Oh, maybe someone had a dog name Pluto, and he needed a planet named after him. Ha
Francis

Heheh!!
Actually an 11 year old girl came up with the name back in the 1930s its kinda weird hehe!
Pluto is a dwarf planet. I think it's important for us to consider the correct thing, Because if we don't it will cause confusion among the other "dwarf " Planets that are larger than Pluto.

Hahaha. Do not spread 'Dwarfism' to the stars. We do not want a napoleon Planet to rise up aginst us!

OMG XD

At school I fixed in my mind an exact number of planets in the Solar System, ha-ha:) I this Pluto deserves to be one:)

noooooooooooooooooooooooooo lol! I understand for childhood sake, A lot of people don't want to let it go.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49