I Want To Find Human RemainssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago


There is something that has been nagging at me lately. I watch a lot of crime shows admittedly. And it drives me NUTS when they don't find the remains of the person who was murdered. It seems to happen often,
I mean I understand that law enforcement does everything that they possibly can to find the remains so that the family members can receive some degree of closure.

This post is much darker than what I usually write. But It amazes me how much more comfortable I feel with the Steemit community, When it comes to sharing things.

The world is big, And if someone is buried or put under the ocean, How the heck do you locate them?

In one case that happened in Utah, It breaks by heart. Her remains still haven't been found. After over 20 years. I look at my Garrett AT Pro metal detector... And I wonder if there is anything I can do to help.

On the day she went missing, She was wearing two rings and a watch. My metal detector which cost me 800.00 can pick up on that kind of thing.
She was supposedly buried in the Canyon around 30 miles from where I live. After extensive searching, they did not find her. And they have searched repeatedly.

What are the Laws on this?

I looked the laws in Utah and here they are, (this was copied and pasted)

What should you do if you find human remains

Occasionally, people in Utah find human remains. Remains can be exposed through erosion, through digging (as in digging a foundation for a house), or through some other kind of ground disturbance. Human remains are sometimes found by people just out during a hike.

If you do find human remains while you are out or if you are digging, do not disturb them further. In Utah, it is a third-degree felony for anyone except an archaeologist, the Medical Examiner’s office, law enforcement, or a licensed mortician to disturb, move, remove, conceal, or destroy human remains.

No matter what the age of the bones appears to be, leave them in place and call the local law enforcement agency. If the remains are ancient, law enforcement will contact the Antiquities Section of State History.

Because I've seen first hand, A family member wrongly charged with a crime, Of course, this scares the hell out of me. Would it even be legal for me to go up the mountain looking for them? Of course, If I found them, I would be too terrified to touch them anyways. I would immediately mark the location to inform law enforcement.

Of course, That's IF I found them.
The canyon area is VERY large. And has been searched many times. The chances of me "stumbling" across them are minimal. But it would make me happy to at least try to find them.

The people who committed the crime were already charged and locked up because of it, But they still refuse to tell anyone where they are at. The family doesn't yet have closure. And bringing her remains could help.

It makes me sick to my stomach that someone could be so heartless.

Anyone Majoring In Archaeology?

Another question I thought about, Which is kind of. Weird.
Is how deep would the remains go after this long? They aren't sure how deep she was buried in the first place. But after all the rain and snow that we get, Would she be closer to the surface or deeper? I'm sure there are so many different things in play with that kind of thing. But my metal detector can only detect 8-9 inches deep, Which is pathetic when people are usually buried multiple feet. But after 20 years, Could she be closer to the surface?

I'm probably being silly!

It's probably pretty ridiculous that I'm even considering something like this. But if I could do something that meaningful for someone, That would make me really happy! Even if I try and it doesn't pan out, Who knows what interesting finds I could stumble upon, While searching?

Sort:  

You know, as soon as I saw the title of your article, I was brought right back to a time in my teens when I was actually considering the idea of seeing dead bodies. Death is a very intriguing and appealing subject for many more people daring to share.

Death, really, is a taboo we are facing everyday and, when it comes to actually finding a dead body, even more so a matter that most would rather keep at least a 10'-foot pole away from, even the curious and interested and inoffensive talk itself. It seems to me that it takes special people to be able to look at death, think about it or, even for some of us, live with it on a daily basis.

I'm not one to live with death everyday, though our ancestors had the thought in mind much more often than us, comparably to our modern times, but I surely don't mind talking about it. I'm not obsessed by it,neither do I push it away. It is a fact of life with which I am at immeasurable peace. I also think that someone maybe even anyone whose loved ones have disappeared would love to find solace in the fact that they would now know about the death of their loved one location. On the long run, it would probably allow them to precess death once and for all, instead of living in the incertitude that maybe, just maybe, the loved one is still somewhere, alive and haven't contacted them for a reason or another...

Thanks for this thoughtful and thought provoking article, it take courage to write such a piece and share this among us all so openly. Take good care, all for one and one for all! Namaste :)

there are a lot of good crime videos on youtube, have you seen vids of people going into the catacombs?

No I havent! I'll need to look into those.

If you want better odds, try going to areas where there were known battles. You might find some old relics and artifacts along the way.

Good idea :) I need to do that.

A friend of mine is in jail here in Adelaide, South Australia. A woman in the same prison area killed and dismembered an old lady to claim her welfare benefits.
Cops found everything but the head, and she won't tell them where it is.
They've offered a substantial sentence reduction and she still won't tell.

Aww man! That is so messed up!

Thats what the dad actually did :( Even though the guy is already arrested, He told the killer that he would be his biggest advocate on getting him out of Prison if he reveals the location. I don't get why he can't just tell the parents!

hahaha, good luck :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 67163.45
ETH 2666.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70