How To Use Minimalism To Boost Your Productivity!

in #life7 years ago

pexels-photo-300122.jpeg
Minimalist people are often more productive than those who aren't minimalist. I didn't believe this at first, but then I got so fed up with having so much stuff. That once I started getting rid of it, I realized how being a minimalist can make a difference.
hand-859518_960_720.jpg

Use To Do Lists

I love to To-Do Lists, But they can also get out of hand fast. People add 5,000,000 tasks to them. And they'll be lucky if they even get half of them done.
We feel defeated because of it. And sometimes it gets to the extent that we don't even want to look at our lists anymore.
Become a minimalist with your to-do lists, By putting on what is necessary! Tasks that have to be done. You can also include a mini list nearby of "bonuses." This is a great tactic I use, so I know that if I get done with work early, I can get a few extra things done.
I also love to do lists because sometimes we know we have a busy day coming up, And we have no idea how we can accomplish everything. By writing it down it often looks smaller than expected so we can conquer it. Instead of spending all day frantic thinking that accomplishing our goals of the day is impossible.

Cut Distractions

What I love about minimalism, It's it's truly life changing in so many ways, Financially, Stress wise as well as other things.
By Owning less, I no longer have to "look" for things, Because very often it's sitting in front of my face! My desk stays mostly clean and empty all the time so i"m not distracted by random objects.
Think about how much time you spend every week on all the crap you own; It may not seem like a lot. But it adds up, you trip over stuff, you have to "dig" through things to find something. Sometimes you can't find what you need at all, So You end up getting stuck buying the item again to replace it. Because it might be something, you need desperately.
I was mad when I lost my lead holder (Similar to a pencil) Sharpener a couple of months ago. After waiting and searching weeks to find it, I failed. So I broke down and bought a new one for 8.00 (Yeah they are expensive.) A week later I found the old sharpener. I was pissed.
Not only did I waste 8.00, But the sharpener will probably last a very long time, So It's not going to "break" soon. Now I'm stuck owning 2 when I only need one. This "distraction" caused me to waste my time and money Because I had to waste time looking for it. Which eventually led to me wasting my money on a new one!
Cut back your distractions, By getting rid of stuff, This includes your computer distractions.
cycling-2309811_960_720.jpg

Remember the Pareto Principle

For those of you who don't know, it's also called the 80/20 rule.
20% Of your efforts will be responsible for 80% of your success. This rule is so accurate in every aspect of your life. Remembering this rule Will allow you to pick the best possible opportunities for yourself. And you won't' feel as burned out when something your investing 80% of your time into, Isn't quite working.

Take breaks

I can't emphasize this enough! I used to Think that never taking a break would make me more productive. It doesn't. Having a second to refresh your mind and relax helps! Even if it's only a quick 10-minute walk, Do it! I do this with my running 2-3 times a day; Each run is a half hour. I start to look forward to it each day, And it encourages me to hurry up and get stuff done so I can get that running break.
What does this have to do with minimalism? Most people these days refuse to take any break, And when you own less stuff, you often have more time in your day. So you can have more breaks!

Conclusion

Minimalism is often about simplifying your life in every way possible. Whether it's mental, Physically or digitally. To enable you to take full advantage of your time. By having a smaller to-do list, And by taking breaks, Also eliminating things in your life that are slowing you down, You gain an advantage in your life, That many other people don't have. Because our devices, our physical lives, and our brains are so overstuffed with crap that is unnecessary.

Thank you @elyaque for the awesome Badges!

Sort:  

Yes! And on that to do list use the 80/20 rules to identify what really needs to get done! Everything seems to circle back to that principle. :-)

Love that! You should definitely use the 80/20 on your to do lists :)

I've noticed that, Whenever I think of that rule and I think of every area of my life, It seems work like that.

it works for marketing too, 20 percent of your customer base usually accounts for 80% of your sales.

Yep, just like 20% of your clients cause 80% of your work/problem solving. Makes it easy to figure out which clients to fire though!

So true! @raddog ! Thats why In the books i read, They always recommend marketing to your customers that have already made a purchase. Because they are more likely to purchase again.

yes, they say it's easier and cheaper to maintain old customers than recruit new ones

Exactly! :)

The 80/20 rule resonates in so many parts of life . After all it is a RULE. Haha

What a nice illustration! It's true, It's a very accurate rule.

I agree, and some how manimalist and laziness are quite similar don't you agree? Dang life is hard :( .. with steem it becomes a bit better :3 .. @kaylinart can I have that lead holder ? . :v just saying

So true!! I agree with that
You totally could! I don't need it! LOL.

How do you get the badges to line up side by side?

You erase the spaces between the HTML So it's glued to together. > Kinda like that. If your using IMGUR. your HTML may look different from mine.

@kaylinart
This article really hits home and is something that I am working towards in my own life. I'm trying to reduce the distractions as much as possible and take more time to get to know myself and get to a quiet place once in a while.
Over the course of time, I think we begin to realize that all of the "stuff" that we think we need is really just pulling us down. Less is more, as my grandma used to say to me and how true it is.
Thanks for sharing such a thought-provoking post! Excellent work, as always! :)

Being productive is good because it will help a person feel more joyful, connected with, a feeling of accomplishment, and satisfied in your work and life.

Exactly :) hehe wonderful comment.

Fewer decisions! The more decisions, the more energy required. The fewer decisions, the more energy saved. And amen, amen, amen on distractions. Often distractions consume extra energy. Bleh!

Exactly! I love that! They do ! Stupid distractions!

Keeping things minimal, will also eradicate decision fatigue. Each decision you make, this is literally thousands. The decision to wake up, the decision to brush your teeth.
Keeping things minimal like your wardrobe, what show to watch on TV, tasks to complete that day, will mean more energy for tasks that do matter like your job/family/Steem etc.

So true!! Making too many decisions can really hurt your ability to be productive.

Love the sentiment. I don't think the Pareto principle necessarily has anything to do with the concept of minimalism, but still all great little tips.

I feel like it kinda does, Because minimalism is geared towards simplifying your life, and focusing on the things that matter. So that 20% is definitely something that matters!

Fair enough, fair enough.

'Cut Distractions' - are you telling me I should delete my steemit account? NOOOOOOOOOOO

Heheh NOOOOO Everything except Steemit XD

Ok I will follow your advice! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57962.42
ETH 3050.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25