How To Survive FailuresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago


Failure is hard, Sometimes things seem so difficult. You just want to throw in the towel and give up on life. But that's a silly way of doing things.

Sure When you fail, you it can seem like the end of the world. Like in my last post, when I was blocked from buying from Target. I had at least 5 or so orders waiting to be filled. And other websites didn't offer the exact same products at a reasonable price.
This was scary.

My thoughts were ridiculous.

  • I'm going to die now
  • I'm a failure
  • How could I be so stupid!?
  • My customers are going to kill me
  • They are going to shut down my whole online store.
  • Oh, crap I just lost all of my income!
  • I'm freaking screwed.

The results

Because I kept my feedback at 100% positive. And I kept the Neutrals and negatives to a minimum. I WILL receive some neutrals and negatives as a result of this.
But guess what?! I have a ton of positives coming in EVERYDAY! So worst case scenario, I may drop my percentage to 99% And even then, I still see sellers at lower percentages like 80 and 96% Which I Won't drop that far.

Your brain is stupid

It's funny how we always jump to the worst-case scenario When failure happens. You make a mistake at your job, And you expect to be fired immediately. MOST OF THE TIME THOSE THINGS NEVER HAPPEN.

I remember as a Janitor, I was cleaning the bathrooms, and the Hydrochloric acid we used in the toilets tipped over and was spilling down the hallway. I didn't notice. until later when I saw little droplets of melted carpet. I panicked and cleaned it up trying to somehow fix the carpet, But it was gone. Because of me, I burned like 10 small holes in the carpet throughout the school. I felt like running away. I thought for sure my supervisor would fire me the next day. I was completely honest when I told him what happened. He shrugged it off, And told me to keep the chemical off my cleaning cart to prevent it from happening again. Later the carpet was patched up.

We always think the worst case scenario will happen, because that is how we are programmed. In the wild, that was necessary for our survival. But that instinct only causes us stress now.

Be A child

When you are a kid, You probably worried a lot less. You didn't wake up in the morning worried about the stock market, Or your job, Or your relationship. You woke up in the morning thinking about all the fun things you wanted to do for the day.

Try to be more like a child. Worrying often won't fix your problems. And if you think logically you can solve the problems, Instead of letting them cause you a bunch of stress.

  • When children are punished. They quickly forget. They don't spend all day dwelling on what happened. They cry and move on.

Question Everything!

Many adults do not question. They assume they know. As a kid you probably questioned everything.

  • Why is the stove hot?
  • Why does my ice cream melt?
  • Why does she get more toys than I do?

But when we are adults, we cement in our ideas and we fail to wonder. When we hit failure, We need to question everything, That's the only way out. When we stick to only what we know we fail to go into new territory that could help "bail" us out.

The whole Target thing again.. How Would I fulfill those orders.
I walked around Walmart looking for those items, So I could ship them to my customers. I kept thinking...

  • Walmarts near my house, What if I went to the store, And bought my customers stuff? Would they pay the extra shipping?
  • Could I offer my customer something slightly different? A different scent? A similar brand?
  • What are alternatives to Target, Which would be OKAY with me dropshipping?
  • Can I somehow contact the company directly and build a relationship?

I spent all day upset, Thinking this was the end of my store, But by the next morning, I had enough Ideas that I could survive!

Write Ideas down

Like James Altucher says, "Write 10 Ideas A day". We often brainstormed in elementary school, But for some weird reason, we stopped.
Why?
Brainstorming gives you such an advantage. You can lay out all your ideas on paper, See what's best and just roll with it.

Give Yourself Choices!

We often don't give ourselves enough choices to meet our goals. It's often this or that.
How, the heck do you win?
Try and give yourself more choices. That is why brainstorming is important.

Thank you Pixabay for the photos

Sort:  

Good thoughts! Also, i have a similar rule: if I get rejected at something, I always think that it is not me who lost something, but the one who rejected me. Always helps to feel better!

I love that mindset!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.68 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 23 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Excellent advice!

Thank you :)

No failure is the end of the world unless it ends up with you being dead. Way to pick yourself up and go again!

Thank you!! It's funny how the brain can jump to such a silly conclusion.

Our brain is always our own worst enemy, until we stop allowing it to be. :)

Fear of failure is responsible for more failures.

Agreed :) Jump in and go for it!

Very good advice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44