How To Stay Calm All The Time

in #life7 years ago

portrait-2757394_960_720.jpg
It can often be hard to take bad news. We beat ourselves up, we overthink and we overall just get a horrible amount of anxiety over it. We often don't realize that we don't have to react in the way we usually do. Often when we throw tantrums or act all crazy, we only hurt ourselves more.
sunset-317042_960_720.jpg

Daydream

Give yourself those moments to just relax and dream. Put down your phone and give yourself time to contemplate and test crazy ideas with your mind. You have a better chance of finding a solution to your problem when you do that. Whereas constantly keeping yourself distracted by your phone, video games and other things keep you from solving problems in your life. This is how I've made big decisions in my life. And given myself hope when I felt like my life was going "nowhere." Sometimes there are so many more options that we are overlooking.

Acknowledge Your Feelings!

When you feel the extreme emotions coming on. What are you feeling? Often we forget to acknowledge the pain we feel so we just let it boil up. When my mechanic said, my car was in a wreck a huge surge of emotions came over Me. Good thing I can't teleport I would have beat the guy at the dealership who lied to me. At some point my mechanic flat out told me, he's so brutally honest about my car because he didn't want to waste my money. Then he commented to my dad when he kept cracking jokes. "Hey! She got a lot of bad news today. And is probably pretty upset ".
That's when it dawned on me. "I am upset." My beautiful car got hit; it got hurt by something, I was lied to, I had no idea at that moment if I would still have my car in a week from now if it would cost me a ton of money. Or if I would even get my deposit back if I decided to return the car.
I was upset; I felt uneasy at that unknown. That had the potential to wreck a part of my life that I tried so hard to get for myself.
When I acknowledged the fact that I was upset. Something bizarre happened. The anger went away; I felt better. Even while I waited for the mechanics call to hear the news of what might end up needing to be fixed or replaced. I felt at peace. I know at this point it was out of my control. That going berserk over this would accomplish nothing.
africa-1170055_960_720.jpg

Take Breaks

This is similar to Daydreaming. Not only do we need to take breaks from the constant interruptions and demands of our time: our phones, gaming, etc. But take a break from working. Ever had writing or creative block? Well, there you go. We tend to have the same ideas over and over again. Studies suggest that most of our thoughts are the same from yesterday. When you work yourself to death you can't keep generating new ideas; you need to step out of your comfort zone. By taking breaks, it will allow you to return to a feeling of calmness even if your life is a big mess. It even allows you to reevaluate your priorities because it's too easy for us to get off track.
Staying calm reduces our stress levels and improves our health overall. Most of the time our stresses are over things that are now out of our control. Which does nothing to benefit you. Becuase things that are going to happen will happen at that point

()U5dsPutnTkgsKTGGvXZgkVLbedrFVim_1680x8400.pngU5du6Tg4LRagCMftytdJokqaJrouYou_1680x8400 (1).pngU5dszFNSZhy2tgQ1W7xAikndfzLTAFv_1680x8400.pngU5dsNpZzTkSdUzcjVGTR3RdFY1SBMmJ_1680x8400.png
Laura lemonss hehehe.png

Sort:  

This has sort of brought me out of some very dark depression. Or at least headed in the right direction. Resteeming. Thanks @kaylinart

Thank you so much. I hope it can help you for the long run :( I know struggling with that kind of thing can be really rough!

Yes it is hard. But i will continue working on not freaking out over things out of my control, or being sad about them

dont worry @chelsea88 everything is going to be alright

It's not a good idea to stay calm all the time...

very good article @kaylinart

It is always good to confront and accept your emotions. These days so many people escape into fantasy worlds on the internet. There is still nothing better than a warm one on one with a trusted friend. About the phone, leave it behind when in company, we are all addicted in this modern world.

Having a problem is not a beautiful life dear, dizzy thinking about a problem that is not finished. When I'm having trouble I'm always looking for friends to cheer me up. Look for the crowd @kaylinart place.

Looks like u an angel...thanks for sharing another beautiful post.keep sharing..take blessing

👏🏽This is emotional intelligence to me.

Thanks for this post this is helpful to me ^_^

The beautiful sunset @kaylinart, the perfect shooting method.

Thanks :) But It's a stock photo I found on Pixabay

Love your optimism:-) Great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60906.91
ETH 2920.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69