How To Go Viral/Tips to make your STEEMIT Post Successful.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Going viral is such a strange experience. You post something, and all the sudden it's like getting hit by a truck. There is a rush of people you don't know sharing your content. It feels good, And it's out of your hands, You have no idea how far it will travel or how much exposure you'll get.

What Goes Viral?

When I think of the most recent viral thing, I think of my friend @lauralemons She posts stuff that means something to her on the deeper level. But also something that touches other people. As a society, we are going through large changes. And some of our common mindsets on things should also change as a result. Her stuff is geared towards that.

Often what goes "viral" is more out of the box and interesting. That is what makes it so hard to pull off.
While there is no for sure method of going viral. Having different opinions from others and being original can often make that happen.

If you are a writer!

You can aim for longer blog posts. Most blog posts are short, they give quality information, but they end relatively quickly. By making longer posts 3,000 - 10,000. People are more likely to share your stuff because of the increased value they provide.
These days more and more people want money for their stuff. They are willing to offer less for free. Even if you aim for just 2,000 words you'll see better results than the usual 300-500 word post.

There is much less competition with long-form writers.

PICTURES!

Having at least 1 image can lead to more shares. People are visual. They love color; They love drama. Find a great photo to slap in your post.

Stock photo sites!

Here are some of my favorite stock photo sites

  • Pixabay.
  • Pexels
  • Morguefile

Quizzes

People love to talk about themselves and answer questions about themselves.
So make your blog post a quiz, Or add copy and paste survey at the end. People will LOVE IT.

Lists

Turn your blog post into a bulleted or numbered list. Think about the reading experience of everything that you write. The easier it is to read something the more likely people are to share. Lists are easy for "skimming eyes." Because we indulge in so much content these days, Many of us don't carefully read things. Instead, we skip quickly the important aspects of the post, then to move on.
Also, You could do: Infographics, How to articles, What posts, And why posts.

10 Is the Magic number

Don't push it. Sure, You want that longer blog post, but sometimes things that are too long get boring. So be careful of this.

Tuesday!

Are Tuesdays a great day to share?
Why?
Because people are in their workweek. They are more likely to read your content. The initial scare of Monday is over with.

What are some survey services I can use?

  • Survey Monkey
  • Google Forms (Free)
  • Typeform

Want Awesome Steemit Gear? Get this Cool shirt for 10.99

Thank you @elyaque for the awesome Badges!

Sort:  

I always assumed long posts wouldn't be as popular, since most people have limited time and attention spans. Therefore I try to keep mine concise. I could be wrong in my assumption.

Follow your heart, everyone of us has an opinion. I gave up on long posts years ago.

Did long posts not do well for you? I just feel that I am helping the Steemit community out more if I can read, upvote, and respond to several short posts versus one long post. So I use that same mentality when I create my own posts. Shorter is better.

A most excellent post....thanks for your insight. I always thought about the day of the week being important when posting your content...now i see some correlation. Upvoted and followed :-)

Aww thank you!!

Interesting. Thanks for writing it.

No problem :)

Another very helpful post! Thank you

No problem heheh :)

Hey! great great writing, I really like it and thank you.. :)

Thank you very much! I'm glad I could help.

Excellent post with great info! Re-steemed and I plan to test some of these out :)

Thank you :)

Oh! It again for me. Your advice will help me. :) Today is a very productive day. Thank you and resteem

I have read five different posts but this one has the right insights :)

Great post but you and I have a very different perspective. I have had hundreds of post go viral over the years. It was more based on hitting emotions rather than the length of a post. I have had simple memes and photos get seen by half a million people in one day.

As long as there is a message or something funny you have the chance of going viral.

Thanks!! I'm new here and I appreciate the helpful tips.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60606.72
ETH 2910.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44