How I Got Banned From Target!!!!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago

So I made a BIG MISTAKE RECENTLY. That Finally caught up with me and bit me in the ass.

For those of you who don't know, I'm fully self-employed at the age of 24. Part of my self-employment involves me running a much dreaded. Dropshipping store. But this asset to my income helps me stay a float in the self-employment world, As I work really hard to build up my other sources of income.

Some people Do dropship from Amazon To Ebay, Although It's not allowed per Amazon policy.
And I don't want to piss off Amazon, So I refuse to break the rules.

Then I found Target....

They had a special Red card credit card, And It offered some great benefits.

  • Free shipping on almost everything
  • 5% off all items.
    It was like a dream come true. Many of the target prices are lower than amazon.

    I even read the fine print and I didn't see anything about Dropshipping against the rules, But I used the wrong wording, I should have search for "reselling" not dropshipping.
    After sending a ton of items directly to my customers It was like a dream come true.

... It stopped working..

Every order I would place, Would automatically cancel. and I had no control over any of it. It was terrible.
My customers were starting to panic Because Many of the items they purchased were Christmas presents.
I had to run to Walmart and buy as many of the items I could. But sadly many were out of stock.
I was screwed over.

I later realized that Target actually takes a loss on some items in order to get you into the store. So those ridiculously cheap 1-4 items with free shipping, were cheap because Target hoped you'd buy 10 other items with it, making them money.

A smart strategy indeed. But disappointing overall.

I even tried to sign up with a new account to place those last couple orders for my customers. But They knew it was me and blocked me from ordering.

bummer

I found a new website to operate on, But I now have to edit a lot of my current listings.

What did I learn from this?

Dropshipping is frowned upon. But it shouldn't be all the time. The website I operate on, Is very small. And these people use a different currency. Without me, These people wouldn't have access to specific items.

I learned I need to be more careful, And possibly contact certain companies to get their merchandise at better prices.

I also need to check the fine print using a variety of words.

Hopefully, Ebay is more open to this kind of thing, Because i"m buying from independent people.
Who cares who it's shipped to?

It's a complicated thing, But I plan to continue to look for ways to make my store run faster.

Sort:  

Strive on dear, what the future holds for you is greater than this. Nice post

Thank you so much :)

This brings back memories. :)

Many moons ago, we used to go to Walmart and buy out the latest electronic gadget that was hot and sell them on eBay before Christmas; because they were sold out at just about every store by then and eBay was the best way, if not the only way, for people to find them. They were also willing to pay 2x for some items.

Aww! I need to do that! I actually saw that happen with the new DS XL's . They were selling for a crazy amount. And I was forced to buy one for a ridiculous price. I think next year. I'll pick up a few of them to make profit!
Thats awesome you were able to make quick cash that way! People get so desperate.

I cannot believe you don't run an OpenBazaar store, dropshipping is more than good with the crowd, enough where one of the devs made an official blog post just about that http://blog.openbazaar.org/dropshipping-on-openbazaar/

And OpenBazaar just started taking a crapload more altcoins including Steem, I just used it personally this past week to support some artists and bought a little sculpture and showed how I did it here https://steemit.com/tutorial/@cryplectibles/tutorial-with-images-how-to-buy-with-steem-on-openbazaar

You could run two stores if you wanted, one for dropshipping items and the other for personal goods if you'd like to sell. Make that money, especially that digital money.

You have been targeted by Target. :) Pun intended. Yeah, it is weak but I felt like saying it. ;)

LMAO! still awesome hahha Target was scared of me h ahha.

Like the saying in business goes - "there are no failures just lessons"

That should just be a life saying, really good quote.

Thanks - heard it in a Tony Robbins interview!

target.com is run by amazon.com.
They are in fact the same database.

If you ask them to delete your Target account, you Amazon account will be gone.

Wait seriously!? I had no idea. My account on Target still exists. But No orders are going through. I have no intention on deleting my account. But I won't be able to use it anymore.

This literally just happened to me. I wondered if your account has since unbanned? maybe they just have a timer where it will auto unban after a while.

@builderofcastles. I wondered if I ask them to delete my affected account completely and reopen another one if that would work again.

If they truly care, they could've enforced the quantities limit like how amazon does it where there is no way to buy more vs ban people right out where but other things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84