How Decluttering Changes Your Thinking!

in #life7 years ago

girl-2099354_960_720.jpg

Decluttering had a lot of unexpected changes in my thinking that I never imagined. I'm in a constant state of decluttering now! If I'm not going to use something, I get rid of it fairly quickly.

It has made my life so much easier because I no longer have to manage a ridiculous amount of stuff.

It Makes You Appreciate The Small Things In Life!

I get excited over even then smallest things. Like a new bottle of lotion, or new nail polish. Something that costs less than 5.00 can give me so much joy. Where as when I had a crazy amount of stuff, It took something really big and expensive to make me happy.
So I save money by having less. And I'm happier more of the time, Because I don't have to come up with hundreds of dollars to put a smile on my face. It just takes something small.
chaos-227972_960_720.jpg

You Buy Only What You Need

Instead of just buying bulk amounts of random stuff, You start buying only what you need and can use now. This saves a lot of money, Sometimes buying in bulk costs more, Because you decide that you don't like the product anymore and youre stuck with 10 of them.
You buy things you need, Not things you think you need, But things you will actually use. So much of our money goes towards things we don't even like, Or will never use. They say that Americans waste half of the food they buy!
office-2293223_960_720.jpg

You See things Differently!

Somethings have sentimental value. While others don't have much value at all.
Sentimental value makes things complicated. YOu shouldn't get rid of all your items like that if you don't feel comfortable with it, (You usually can't replace it later). But as I own less and less, I am feeling less sentimental about my stuff.
The memories are on the inside, And no one can take them away from me, Sentimental stuff can be overwhelming and take up so much of your life. I still keep sentimental items, but I keep it to the minimum.

We own so much stuff! And many of us don't realize how things don't make us happy. Vacations and experiences can often bring more happiness While decluttering can relieve us of stress that we feel from "managing" our stuff. Decluttering is quite fulfilling.

Sort:  

It's amazing how something so simple can have such a profound effect on the mind. My mother always said 'A tidy home is a happy home.' Maybe there's something to it after all.

That is indeed a good thing to do. I remember when I cleaned my room and took a lot of unnecessary things out to the trash can. After that the atmosphere of the room got cleaner and staying inside it felt better :)

I personally can't do life well without decluttering happening almost constantly. I've worked in cluttered spaces and really minimal, non cluttered spaces and the difference is amazing. I feel so much better when I can relax. I'm such a decluttering freak that I have to move off all the extra stuff they put on tables at restaurants (big bulky condiment holders, flyers, menus, etc) as well as get rid of all the extra empty cups that clutter up a table. I promise though, I'm NOT OCD 😁

Thanks for your sharing. I first see the term decluttering when I read a newspaper and telling the story from Japan. Which is about a Japanese who sell/ drop almost all of his "additional" stuff and just remaining what he need for living: 4 set of clothes for exchange, 2 cups, 1 toothblush, etc. And he feel he is free after he do so. He don't need to think why I need to buy, what I want to buy, what I have to do with all my bought stuff. he just have so much more time to focus on "living". I agree with him, but it just quite hard for me to do so..

The "minimalist" approach! My family just decided to gave away most things that we don't need. It is always hard to do that, but we decided to ask ourselves 2 questions, "did you use it in the past 1 year", no = donated!
Great read as usual @kaylinart
Have a great day!

LOVE it!!! Thats How I am too Hehe :)

💯💯 Decluttering makes things seem less crazy :)

ohh ya ::)

Buy less stuff and get more Steem ;) 💯 💯

Name the person who creates more Steemit posts than @kaylinart

Trick question! No one does!

=) haha <3

OMG! You are so funny ehheheh XD Yeah I'm so addicted I can't stop! Today was SUPPOSED to be my TShirt making day. But instead I'm making posts LOL.

Wait, do I get a prize if I name someone? :-)

lol

I will give you a Steemit high 5

b932778e8cfc3819b9895fa64ed002b369ffea89.jpg

Gave ya a follow.

Wait a sec.. who is the person that posts more than kaylinart? lol

LOL....well, they are people I don't follow cause they post so much it jams up my feed. I won't name names cause I'm a gentleman. Kaylin posts just the right amount!

I don't mind the constant bloggers as much as I dislike the constant resteemers. I refuse to follow them. lol

Yeah, the 10 resteems a day is bad. I do know of one user that posts like 10 music clips a day and another that seems to be a group of people posting crypto news a dozen times a day to a single account

@kaylinart I have a big problem of buying too much junk. But, I have been so busy the last few days with steemit.com that I haven't been buying junk! My current plan is to start saving all my extra money and buying cryptocurrency like steem, dash, litecoin, pot coin, and dogecoin instead of buying junk! I'll let you know how it goes!!

Great post!
Clutter drives me crazy and it seems when I'm really tired it affects me more.
Thanks for sharing and steem on :)

thank you for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34