😰 😰Hike#18 Waterfall, A Moose, And Cold Feet! 😰 😰

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Today my friend and I decided to tackle a hike we've done quite a few times, but fail every time. It's called Doughnut falls.
It's supposed to be this gorgeous waterfall inside a small cave.
But because of all the water, We have never been able to get in there to see the waterfall successfully.

We went early, Especially with many people having Memorial Day off. We figured that the weekend hikes would be busy. So we went first thing in the morning on a Sunday.
I love morning hikes; Fewer people makes it so much more relaxing.
We saw a MOOSE! It was such a large and beautiful animal! It stared at us for a minute while eating grass and leaves. Finally, it slowly walked away. Sorry for the blurry pictures, We tried to keep our distance.


We got up to the river, and it was still really full, But we had to cross the river to get into the cave, Sadly though there was a lot more water than we expected. (We should have waited until fall or winter)

We had to put our feet in the water to cross. It was unbearably cold, and I cringed the whole time with every step. It was like that extreme cold, Where it burns and hurts real bad.
But when we finally got across, we quickly realized that our efforts were somewhat for nothing. Even though we could see the impressive cave and the waterfall, We could tell that the waterfall was still covering much of the opening of the cave, and we'd have to climb up the waterfall to get in there.

My Soaked Feet

Sadly we eventually had to turn back, And we realized we need to wait for the water level to be much lower before we can go in there.

Lots of Shoes

I was annoyed when I saw all the shoes and socks lying around. I saw two pairs of socks. And two random flip-flops.
For one, Why would you go hiking in flip flops?
It looks like they fell off when the person crossed the river, and they lost their shoe.

The other people littered, By leaving their socks behind.
But sadly because of the stuff we use in our clothing, the socks won't break down naturally. Luckily I bought one of my reusable cloth grocery bags, I then put the shoes and socks in there. To throw them away when we got off the trail. Litter bothers me, Especially when we go hiking.

We Saw Deer and Rabbits!


I always get so excited when I see wild animals on my hikes. We saw some cute deer who came to the river for a drink. Sadly they ran away when they saw us, Even though we were far away and kept our distance. We also saw four cute little bunnies; They were brown with adorable white little feet.
The beautiful thing about early morning hikes is, We see more animals because other hikers haven't scared them away.

Sort:  

I see water falling, but no doughnuts. 😅
Well look at those cute little feet! ;)
Yes I have big feet, that's why I said it hehe. But nice hike, we don't have moose here.

OH my gosh XD So creative heheh Thank you! No moose? Aww but they are so cool hehe!

Nope and I thought the moose was just for Canada? XD
They indeed look cool, I want to come see one! Hehe

I wish there were donuts falling dang it lol

It feels so great to be on hiking. Especialy on a lovely scene like this. l simply cant look down. Nature is genuinely beautiful..thanks for sharing this @kaylinart

Thank You for taking us with you on this Beautiful Scenic Hike. That Moose was very Cool..........Now you just need to get Splashed over @rewards-pool. I was so happy to see that you are there looking to get Splashed. I can feel your splash is coming UP soon...............

Right? Heheh Thank you! I Hope I get splashed soon hehe.

Looks like you had an adventurous and fun-filled day at doughnut falls. It will be more fun if you actually brought some doughnuts to the falls. I'm pretty sure that will make a nice selfy photo a little more cheeky!

OH MY gosh XD Hhhahaa That would have been so cool!

I didn't realize you had moose around there ...

I'm heading to Utah in December. I've added Doughnut falls to my list of possible hikes!!!

Hopefully the water will be low enough in the cave. And I'll bring my neoprene shoes so that my feet won't freeze.

Littering hiking routes sucks. You did well putting those abandoned socks and shoes in a bag to be thrown away.

Thank you! It really does! I'm always picking up litter. I wish people would stop doing it.

There is no cost to bringing cheap plastic bags to put your rubbish into and taking it home. You're not carrying home anything you did not bring along.

Are you Utah? How high above sea level is that place? My guess is that it is between 1000 m and 2000 m above sea level because you have mostly coniferous trees and quite a few birches out there. Also, the birch trees don't seem to have fully grown leaves, yet. So maybe even higher.

wow this may be a tiring journey for you. and suddenly a terrible deer appeared. so the beast said, there was an uninvited guest 😀😀😀. Thanks @kaylinart

Awww Right? LOL

This is certainly a fascinating climb. A considerable measure of intriguing stuffs. The cascade, the stones, the woodland, the creatures, and so on. Great job @kaylinart

Thank you! Right? It was fun.

Looks like a great hike! Love your socks. :)

Thank you hehe

It feels so good to be on hiking..especialy on a beautiful landscape like this..l just cant scroll down.. Nature is truly beautiful..thanks for sharing this @kaylinart

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48