Eat More FISH!

in #life8 years ago

Fish Is one of those things you always hear about! Eat more fish! Eat more fish! There are a lot of different kinds of fish to choose from! Making it easier to go to another kind if you don't like the flavor of certain fish. Fish is also the leanest sources of protein.

Fish Is high in protein and low in saturated fat! Making it great for those of you looking to add protein to your diet without adding a lot of calories. It also contains EPA and DHA fatty acids which are very important for brain function.

  • Why exactly should we eat more fish?
  • What different kinds of fish are there?

Sardines

In addition to anchovies, Are high in potassium, calcium and iron!
If you want to lower the sodium of this snack, Be sure to rinse the salted oil out!
Sardines are convenient because they often come in can form, Whereas other fishes are usually purchased fresh. So if you need a quick fix on fish Sardines are a great choice.

Salmon

My personal favorite!
Salmon has the most Omega-3 fatty acids of the other fish!
There is also canned Salmon ( I had no idea about this!)
Also high in Vitamin D. Salmon has soft tiny bones, That you can eat for an extra boost of calcium.

Tilapia

That white fish you see sold frozen in stores! Tilapia is very high in protein, Higher than chicken. It's very versatile and easy to cook, For those of you who don't like fish. Tilapia has a very mild flavor, and you probably won't even know you are eating fish!

Tuna

I love tuna! Fresh Tuna is so delicious! And canned Tuna is easy and convenient. Tuna is high in Mercury. So be careful of that! Like other fish, tuna can reduce your risk for heart failure. You can buy it in oil or water! Whatever makes you happy! You can also make a ton of different kinds of dishes using the fish. Tuna isn't eaten very fresh in the United States, but you should try it! It can be a little scary because of it's pink flavor. And we know that is a big NO NO with chicken!

Those are the most commonly eaten fish! If you don't like those, there are many more options! Dont' be afraid to try new recipes. Trying a large variety of fish is good for your health, and you should take advantage of it.

Thank you pixabay for the photos

Sort:  

I love fish. I eat enough of it to where I have my favorites for taste. Tilapia being being my least favorite. I really like steelhead and swordfish.

Agreed!! I like salmon personally. I've never had Steelhead or swordfish lol

I love the fish. fish and many different dishes.

Yes agreed hehe.

A person who cares so much of his health will certainly prefer fish than other meat. Yes, fish is good for health you just have to find a way to cook them deliciously to make it more appealing but even so, it still delicious with a simple deep fried.

Yes :) I love it, because you can use more simple recipes or complex

I used to eat a lot of those small cans of fish snacks. They were high in sodium but delicious. Outside the fish snacks and canned tuna, no fish is in my diet. What's wrong with me? I'm craving a salmon steak now. Thank youfor the post

True! They are high in sodium. So you should aim for fresh fish whenever possible.

if you eat a lot of meat .then you look older

Your photographs have given me much appetite, Eating fish provides much phosphorus and fibers to the skin, Excellent photographs thank you very much

Yes :)
No problem hehe.

Fish is great, and I -do- wish I was getting more(or any) of it in my diet. I want to start looking at doing aquaponics. If I didn't live in an apartments with plans to move to a not-desert as soon as possible, I would be already.

My Favorite Way To Eat Fish
Is With Fries, (I Know It's Not healthy)
I Like Coleslaw With It Too And
Hushpuppies, Yum!

Haha that sounds so yummy! Eating fries once in a while can't hurt.

Another thing to be aware of when buying fish is to make sure it's sustainably caught or farmed. The Monterey bay aquarium in CA has a seafood watch program that gives helpful direction when buying fish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52