DON'T Throw THAT AWAY!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago

Uses for your OLD coffee grounds.

I'm not a huge coffee drinker, but I sure wish I was. I have an addiction to soda instead, Which I would be much healthier if I switched to coffee. I do drink the occasional cup, But not as often as I would like.
For those of you who drink coffee at home, You have a huge advantage. Many people throw away the grounds when their done. That's just crazy! Here are some uses for your old grounds.

Body Wash

This is my favorite; Coffee grounds are perfect for exfoliating. Especially if you have trouble spots with acne or ingrown hairs.
To make the coffee milder if you wish, you can add some castle soap, Or mix it with your regular body wash.
The caffeine in the grounds will also give you a fresh burst of energy. Because the caffeine will be absorbed by your skin.

Coffee grounds are also supposed to help with cellulite problems too.

Wash your hair

Coffee grounds will help deep-clean your hair. It will help make it nice and shiny.
Do this before you shampoo. You'll see results. I do this fairly often and I love the results.

Ant, Snail Repellant

I haven't tried this one personally. But coffee grounds mixed in with some Rosemary oil works great for gardens or as a natural ant repellent. Sprinkle it in your garden, or in trouble areas with ants!

Get rid of food odors.

Coffee grounds can be used in a simlar fashion to baking soda. You can keep them in your fridge, And gradually replace them as they get old. It will keep your fridge nice and clean.

Throw it in your Compost!

Coffee is great for your compost because it's high in nitrogen content. Add it to your compost for an easy garden helper.

Coffee is wonderful stuff! I love how nothing has to go to waste, If you have a reusable filter, Even better. Minimal damage to the environment. Plus with coffee being cheap, It's the perfect frugal food. Especially because it can double up on it's uses.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.26 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

We use our old coffee grounds in our raised garden bed.
Good post, thank you!

Apparently cats don't like them much either.. Thus they stop taking craps in your garden ~

I use coffee grounds as snail repellent in the vegetable garden. Seems to be working to keep the slugs and snails away. I will test out the add rosemary oil to it to deal with ants. Got a few rosemary plants - will make up my own concoction.

I hope it works for you :) I'm glad you are able to keep the nails away, They seem like a huge burden. I've never really had a problem with snails in my yard, oddly. Not sure why, They just don't like my yard I guess haaha.

They like my basil plants - and the cucumber plants got nailed last week (before the grounds went in)

Upvoted and followed thanks for this great post!

I have wasted probably a few tones of used coffee grounds.... Very good to know :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56922.13
ETH 2347.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43