Are You Causing Yourself To Have Short Term Memory Loss?

in #life7 years ago

pexels-photo-332359.jpeg

Short term memory loses can greatly impact our ability to be productive! It also can cause us to be forgetful, And stressed.
Here are things that can hurt your short-term memory (Temporarily). These things won't harm you forever, But if you build a habit out of these it can cause you to waste a lot of time!
pexels-photo-112301.jpeg

Not Exercising

Exercise is so healthy for the physical body, And it has mental benefits too! For me, running every day is essential.
It helps me relax mentally, so I get the better focus on the task that I'm doing. It makes me sad to see people complain about not feeling well When they almost never exercise.

Exercise can also make you happier Because it releases endorphins.

Multi Tasking

I feel so silly; I used to go into job interviews bragging about my incredible multi- tasking abilities. Until I realized that multi tasking isn't what we think it is.
It's not about focusing on multiple tasks at once, Multi-tasking is really stressful for your brain, Because of your constantly switching between tasks. You're not doing it all at once.
Multi tasking can also hurt your short-term memory Because you are focused on so many things at once.
When you scale back and focus on one thing at a time, You are less likely to feel overwhelmed, and more likely to remember things.
pexels-photo.jpg

Not Enough Sleep

It's obvious that not sleeping enough can make us feel like crap. But it also impairs your ability to remember things.
When we are tired, we are often somewhat "out of it" And our brain isn't working at maximum potential. So if you need a memory boost, Sleep more!

Worrying

Worrying and overthinking go hand in hand.
When we worry it causes stress. Which then causes our short term memory to be affected.
Try to figure out the cause of your worry, And try and stop doing it so much! Many of us worry when we don't need to. Or we overthink situations that may never happen.

It's funny how many of us, When needing to remember things at school, Things on our to-do list, We start to do these things. We get overwhelmed and stressed; We don't sleep enough. And we multi-task. Thinking that it will improve the position we are in. But the reality is, It probably won't. Instead, you'll be left forgetful, and you won't be able to get anything done. THis is why it's important to take care of yourself. So your brain works at it's peak.


Sort:  

In recent years, I have notice my short term memory has been getting worse. I exercise every day, sleep well, and am generally low stress. Any other tips to help me out? I would appreciate anything.

Practice forcing yourself to remember things instead of writing them down, I know that one can help. You also can play games that will help with memory. Sometimes memory can be something that is practiced and built up :)

Thanks so much for the tip! I am going to start doing things to help me because what is more important than having a good memory!

Magnesium chloride also helps memory

Boy, I'm in trouble. Outside of the multi-tasking I don't have any of the other possible causes, yet my short-term memory is comically bad...lol!

I wish the guy in memento movie had read this earlier :D

Every day you learn new things,
I would never have imagined that multitasking would affect short-term memory

You didn't ? :) I'm glad you learned something new today hehe.

I also find spending too much time online to wreak havoc with my short term memory. I like how your list overlaps with important behaviors for general wellbeing. Interesting stuff!

SO TRUE! Disconnecting for a while really helps :) Wonderful comment hehe.

Wait which ones a memory again?

OMG XD hahah

:) Had a feeling that one would make you laugh.

I like your shirt! "I like big mutts and I can not lie" Great idea!

Thank you so much hehe

Unfortunately, I got a perfect score on this test. Wait, was the question again? Very good information and a good remember of the effects of our choices.

I'm trying, but my real goal is long-term memory loss!

Aww! I feel the same way hehe :)

I recently end up experiencing forgetfulness during the day's activities, is there a way to face it @ zuljalalil

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49