Not a fan...but what the heck...maybe this year I will participate

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_2017-10-12-18-00-33~01.png
image from Google search

So I've been sitting here thinking about the Hollosteam 2017 contest wondering what kind of creativity I could pull out my ass to enter in one or all three categories. I'm not even sure why I'm feeling the desire to even partake since I'm not really a fan of Halloween anyway. It's my least favorite holiday. I mean sure I have some memories carving pumpkins and dressing up in costumes like Raggedy Ann, a cat and I think one year I was even a witch but I dreaded knocking on Strangers doors and asking them for candy... I don't even like candy ( unless it Sees light Bordeaux) now if they were giving away Donuts or cupcakes LOL... that might have been a different story .

But mainly I would have to say because I am not a fan of blood and gore. I'm probably one of the few people in this day and age that isn't . It seems everywhere you look there are people paying high dollar to attend attractions that are so real that they cause extreme terror.

Attractions that are all year round not just on Halloween . Nothing like the kind of haunted houses we had when I was a kid ...these are attractions that emulate movies like Saw ..or where you're being chased by zombies where they can actually touch you and escape rooms....places that you have to sign papers that if you have a heart attack while participating ..that it's at your own risk and not their fault. Yeah that's a bit much for me.

I like scary movies like haunted ghost stories and movies that do not show the gore but rather leave it to your imagination. We have enough things to be afraid of in reality already. So I'm not really big on all of the trending movies and TV shows that are about zombies and bloody massacres or slashers . Besides that I also remember learning in college that everything you see remains in your memory. Which later affects you... not just with nightmares but it gives you fears and also preys upon those fears.

But with all that being said I love my children and my children LOVE Halloween... particularly my daughter. Even though she's grown up she has decorated her entire living space in horror... old and new . It has even inspired her tattoos. There has just always been a little dark side about her. For years she's even used the last name Voorhees on all her social media.

IMG_4174~01.png

IMG_4173~01.png

I remember her experimenting as a kid on herself and her friends with nothing more than toilet paper and face paint. Considering the material she was working with it was quite impressive. She has since had a lot more practice and improved and enjoyed it over the years as a hobby. She recently has been looking at it as a career option.

She would like to attend the Cinema Makeup School located in Los Angeles and also take online courses with Hollywood makeup Academy. And learn online tips and tricks Dick Smiths website for special effects makeup training. I am very proud of her. She just recently applied at the Circus Circus Fright Dome let's all keep our fingers crossed for her. So I thought I would share some of her pictures of her SFX makeup she has done.

IMG_4175~01~01.png

IMG_4142~01.png

IMG_4143~01.png

IMG_4147~01~01.png

IMG_4150~01.png

IMG_4159~01.png

IMG_4145~01.png

IMG_4144~01.png

IMG_4148~01.png

IMG_4154~01~01.png

IMG_4152~01.png

IMG_4151~01.png

IMG_4149~01.png

IMG_4155~01.png

IMG_4153~01.png

Who knows maybe I can do something out of the norm..... step out of my comfort zone a little bit and maybe let her do some work on me..... that would make for an interesting entry in the contest. The picture I posted below has given me some interesting ideas being that I live in Vegas... hmmm..we shall see.

Screenshot_2017-10-12-17-58-27~01.png
image from google search

Even though Halloween is still a couple weeks away I hope everybody has a safe one. Thank you for stopping by my page... I hope you enjoyed the post. As always much love from Vegas XOXO

Screenshot_2017-10-12-19-42-52~01~01.png
image from Google search

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

nyc

Interesting!

Completely 100% with you about gore and Saw..etc

Nope. Thank you, not interested.

I had one halloween that I painted an amazing jigsaw puzzle on my face... Everyone loved it. Maybe this year will be an artistic halloween with the kids!!

Thanks for the post!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95