Space clearing

in #life6 years ago (edited)

What do you think about space clearing ?

Many cultures and religions use smoke, salt, water, sound and may other holy materials to clear energy in desired space, including homes, temples, properties, vehicles.
Native tribes use smoke to foresee the future and banish evil presence, among other purposes. Christianity uses smoke (incense) , water (holy water blessing) and sound (bells in churches) for performing holy rituals. Salt is being used throughout the world as a symbol of purity and cleanliness. Crystals purify and energize, clear stagnant and dormant energy and so on. The list goes on and on.

My favorite space clearing method is smudging.
I take dried white sage, which I usually grow in my garden, crush it a little bit to make a handful of it fit in my marble bowl, put it on fire - I use wooden matches, blow gently into it until the open fire changes into smoking, burning herbs. That is why I use marble bowl with a lid. It never overheats, does not burn my hands and is not so much of a fire hazard.

Once I get a steady smoke stream, I set an intention, like health for a family member, prosperity and success for a particular project and so on. Then I say a short prayer, whatever comes to my mind.

Then I start at the center of the house. I use a large feather, if I happen to find one at the park or forest, or just my hand, to spread the smoke all over myself to purify my energy and I proceed to the entrance of the house. After that I pass from room to room, including the basement, bathrooms, hallways, nooks. Holding a bowl close to my chest, I spread smoke with my hand or a feather away from my body , to the corners of the rooms, clockwise. While doing so, I say out loud 'I BLESS THIS ROOM AND I ASK FOR A BLESSING".
When done, I again smudge myself and open all the windows to let the fresh air cleanse the rooms.
I then take a shower to wash all the heaviness of the process off.

If remaining herbs are still burning and smoking, I put the lid on my container to put it off. Then, when I am done showering, I bury the remnants outside, by the front door, saying my thanks for clearing my house and myself.

I then drink a glass of energized water (more about it in my future posts).

I try to do this in the morning, while the sun is going up and the energy of the day is rising, sunshine is golden and new, shining through the crystals hanging in my windows.
When do you need space clearing... definitely after some difficult experiences, like a fight, a visit from a stranger, before an important event, when you need clarity of mind or when you are trying to achieve a particular goal.

You may ask, how effective it is. Let me tell you, as effective as the intention you set at the beginning of the process. It definitely helps move energy around, especially in awkward, dark corners of your house. As for intentions, I always see effects to some degree. Sometimes it will be a lighter mood, where there was heaviness, or smoother income increase where there was a feeling of getting stuck. And on, and on.

Smudging and other space clearing techniques correspond with other spiritual processes and rituals. More about my own experiences coming soon. 20180807_172233.jpg

If you have any questions or opinion, feel free to share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61025.71
ETH 2726.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45