Swedish Christmas CookiessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

Now we have done a little part of the Christmas-chores - the cookies. Pepper-cookies in shapes - cut with cookie cutters and knives.

Sort:  

It took me a minute to figure out what some of these were supposed to be 😅
They're really cute tho :P

But man... How dare you make me hungry??! ALFJSLKJ
But now I'm wondering what a pepper cookie would even taste like +_+) Probably the only thing I've had peppers in is rotel?? I think?

It is a cookie with lots of different spices. This one has heather-honey, ginger, black pepper, cinnamon and some other spices that I am not sure of (my wife made the dough).

Ohhh... wow, that really does sound good +q+)
Now I feel silly for thinking of chili pepper cookies, but... I would be dumb enough to try it XDDD

Cinnamon cookies are really good though! I've never heard of putting black pepper in cookies??
But I think peanut butter cookies are my favorite.

Man... I haven't made homemade cookies since I was a kid XD
I'm kinda nostalgic for it now 💕

This is Scandinavia. Chilli peppers was not known here before the early eighties.

Here is an old song with the actual recipe... It is from a Norwegian song-play for children. In the play the baker-apprentice mix up the recipe and adds 1 kilo of black pepper.

Early Eighties?!! 😨
I know, logically, that not all foods were available 'round the world, and there's lots of places that still don't have much imports... but it's still shocking just to really think about it 😅

Hrnn... the video isn't really working for me 😅
I'll try to watch it over WiFi in town later today 😋
Thanks for linking it! 🌟

Well, you could get it if you wanted , but Nordic food is not traditionally spicy and definitely not hot, so most people didn't bother learning about such things. Remember that we have lived thousands of years from pork and ryebread.

Later chili became all the rage as Scandinavians like things that hurt... just look at the way we consume alcohol for example! Here is another video for you when you reach town-wifi. It is a Danish gastro-flagellant that actually has made a career of it.

Pork and ryebread??? +_+)
Nutritionists always act like you'll die young without a lot of variety in your diet... did people really used to eat such a basic meal LOL?

Ahh, the videos are neat, but I can't understand a word that either of them say XDD;;;
It was kind of amusing to hear him say the names of countries tho LOL
Also I have no idea what a gastro-flagellant is o . o)

Maybe they did. The North was a poor place in the past.

There was some subtitles on the last video, but all he says is -"this is good"

Nice drawings ;-)

But these are photos? Wrong post?

I was talking about the shapes done with the cakes, good job :-)

Ah, cookie-drawings - well, thank you :)

That looks yummy! I like the octopus as a cookie ;-)

Yes, maybe I should work some more on that concept...

nice food, your cookies very nice

I always wished I could bake @katharsisdrill perhaps one day I could learn from you.

Following a recipe will get you far.

Thanks but the recipe is not on your post.

I know... it was my wife who made the dough. There are lots of recipes out there...
here is one:

http://allrecipes.co.uk/recipe/8398/swedish-pepparkakor.aspx

Add some very aromatic honey instead of syrup and some cinnamon and black pepper.

What's up Steemians ?? If you post a new post , comment @originalworks or !originalworks to receive a 1.5% upvote by n bot if your content is original .

tenor (3).gif

Keep Calm And Steem On :)

Please Follow , Resteem , Upvote or Comment - @jacoknoetze

How will you check if the content is really original?

Please comment on the content instead of spamming the site with meaningless gifs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76