You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you know the word "Hygge"?

in #life7 years ago

Haha, I am Danish so I definitely know it :) I would say that the most important is the feeling of not being alone (even if you are alone). Hygge is family and friends more than anything.

Sort:  

Are you Danish? wow, perfect! I love this way to feel of not being alone! I worked on the theme "home" for some of my artworks and, for me, home is a "word" that contains more than a house, but also family and friends, all together, so I really intrigued by the "hygge" thought ^_^

I think that what hygge is is a thing everybody on the planet knows. A grandfather with the little one on his lap and the teenage grandchild just beside with a book :) But it is true that the homes of Scandinavians and especially in the winter is the epitome of hygge, and Christmas is the time where everything is coming together. We even have a small heathen house-God to keep us company :)

But we do also use the word about a noisy evening at the pub, if we were together with old friends. Actually we use the word very, very often :)

I just read your post about Nisse, awesome! I've never heard about Nisse, but I like it! Thanks to share it with us, it's a very interesting story. Maybe I have a Nisse at my home too ;)

Yes, maybe you have, but I believe that it must speak Latin instead of Old Norse.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41