You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I Learned from Sleeping in my Car for a Week - It's Not as Bad as You Might Think!

in #life7 years ago

What kind of car do you have? I'm thinking to buy a Berlingo Multispace with a view to stealth camping in it when I need to go down to my University every other week for a couple of months. You can fold the back seats down and set it up as a mini-camper with a bed in the back. It has quite a following as DIY mini-camper in the UK.

Sort:  

Awesome. My ex and I took off around the South West of the UK in Peugeot 406. we had a fantastic time and got the stealth camping bug. I have an LDV convoy now in construction yellow with no windows. the height is a handicap for some car parks but looking like a commercial van means I can park up anywhere and no-one knows.

I think a Berlingo is a good choice but consider kiting out a small van. Because if you insulate it you can stay warmer easier. These days LED lights can be bright with almost no power drain.

PS: followed - I want to see more pics of that Convoy! ;)

Well you see, now I have to reveal my master plan!!

The Berlingo would just be a stop-gap measure, something I can save a few nights airbnb/hotel/bnb/short-term rent with, maybe bring to a few festivals, but also be able to use it for my ecology fieldwork next summer, as well as being able to park it in my sister-in-laws road without annoying all her neighbours with an enormous space-consuming vehicle. Also as I'l be effectively commuting once a week between the north and south of England I want something economical. I won't really have much funds or money to do much to it beyond kitting up a bed and some curtains. I've been wondering about quick cheap quick easy heating/insulation solutions as obviously it's coming into winter, any suggestions I'm all ears!

I think I'll get a 2001/2002 Berlingo so i can convert it to run on waste veg oil.

Meanwhile in the longer run, potentially starting next year, I want to save up and buy and convert a Fiat Ducato LWB hightop into a tiny home style camper to live in for the foreseeable future (when I'm not staying at my parents/friends/in Brazil), which will hopefully allow me to travel Europe at my ease in between working gigs and perhaps save up enough to buy a bit of land in the back waters of Ireland to actually park it on!

I've already planned out the Ducato layout, including an elaborate DIY drop down electric bed. Here's some rough plans for my ideas that I did recently to show a friend. Any constructive suggestions welcome :)

MyDucatioLayoutb.jpg

Are you going to make some blog posts about your own build with the LDV Convoy, I'd love to see!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64876.15
ETH 3157.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55