Lucius teaches me a lesson.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

DSC_0089.JPG
This morning was beautiful, the sun was shining and not a cloud in the sky - the warmest day so far this year (a promising start to May). It brought back memories of a couple of years ago when I learned a valuable lesson.
DSC_0141.JPG

I had played with my two pups in my field at the back of my house for over an hour and decided to do a little gardening. I put Lucius in the house, and just let Luna run loose in the front garden. I can trust Luna to stay within the boundaries, but not Lucius ( he has selective response to commands....in other words he will obey if he wants to).

Lucius sat on the windowsill watching us while voicing his annoyance at being left inside. A neighbouring farmer, Jimmy, drove up the lane on his tractor and stopped to chat. He stroked Luna, and spotting Lucius in the window asked why he wasn't out with Luna.
Suddenly Lucius disappeared and I heard a click, but thought nothing of it.
As Jimmy headed back to his tractor, I decided to go indoors for a refreshing drink. Lucius was back on the windowsill staring silently at us. I couldn't open the door! I looked through the pane and the key was still on the inside. I looked at Lucius and I could swear he was laughing. The rascal had turned the key and locked us out.
Luckily I had left two top windows open. With Jimmy's help it took quite some time to squeeze my body inch by inch through the small window (good thing I am slim) but most undignified with Jimmy holding my feet so that I wouldn't drop onto my head with the 4foot drop to the windowsill.
There was no usual ecstatic wiggly greeting from Lucius as I dropped down - he just sat there watching me as if to say "serves you rightful not taking me out with you".

Sort:  

Lol clever Lucius he doesn't look happy at all

He wasn't. But since then I have chains on the windows and bolts on every door...and no keys left in locks!

Better to be safe than sorry

That is funny, smart bugger.

Indeed. Since then I have chains on the windows and bolts on all doors....and NO keys left in doors!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44