'When I retire...I'm going to move to a tropical island'

in #life6 years ago (edited)

When I was in my beginning twenties, a friend and myself were always talking about moving to a tropical island once we grow old.

'Im going to buy an island after I get filthy rich. Move to the tropics and just chill my ass off'

Screenshot_20180309-134117.jpg

Nice ideas about living the good life in the tropics and leaving the high pace European paved roads. We could talk about this for hours, about thinking about sipping on Margharitas under a palmtree with the ocean on the background.

I had living a busy life in Holland at that time. High level volleybal, high tech working field, good social life, money and time for vacations multiple times a year. At a certain point I got an offer to work on a small island called Sint Martin in the Caribbean sea for a couple of months. Even though this island belonged to the Dutch kingdom, I literally knew NOTHING about it but I was curious of course.

I decided to go for it. Because why wait with moving to a tropical island until Im old, when the chance was falling into my lap all of a sudden. I had vacation days left on my job, and I left Holland for a 3 month adventure overseas. I had the time of my life in the Caribbean! And when I returned to Holland I noticed I had changed.

I looked at my 'old' life from a new perspective and decided it was time for some change.

Because why wait with moving to a tropical island when I was having the oppertunity to do it NOW??

20180303_120335.jpg

So I quit my job after 11 years, packed my bags and I left again after a couple of months in de Dutch winter.

Was this scary? Yes

Was this impulsive? Maybe a bit

Do I regret doing this? NEVER

Screenshot_20180309-134204.jpg

And yes, living abroad is not always peachy. A lot of people tend to think I am actually just chilling under a palmtree with a margharita. On the contrary actually!

I work more hours now than I used to in Holland. I get payed less and life is more expensive here than in Holland. I saw a lot of friends entering the island and leaving again. I miss my family and my friends living back home. I miss certain sophistication of society.

Will I live here forever?

I dont know, I can't predict the future. But as island life teaches you...you just take one day at a time, and decide then what will happen.

Life is more simplified here. Nobody expects too much of you, nobody feels offended if you do not live up to their expectations. I like this pace. Also...some times I don't.

But it is what it is...Until is isn't anymore

We will see what happens then

Sort:  

@karinxxl please allow me to give you some advice for your blog posts.

...CHANGE NOTHING.. these are very valuable, easy to read, and fun.

..keep at it.. Your audience will grow for sure.

Thx bro! Im really taking this as a compliment from you.

Not changing anything, this is MY game

Hahahah I love this comment!

Being a city boy, I don't see myself living away from "civilization" for more than 5 days. But on the other hand those photos are very tempting ... :)

Hahahahaha... Dude I grew up in cities as well, and I love them as well! One thing that is difficult to understand for people is what kind of things we do and do not have here. We have fantastic restaurants, and electronic stores and so. But getting simple stuff like H&M basic clothing, ikea furniture, wallmart stuff for in the house is just a disaster. I like it that I know both worlds to be honest :)

But everytime when I am in Holland I am amazed on how technology did not reach the islands as yet haahahha

All I need is a steady supply of electricity and water. Fast internet ( >10 Mbps ) , a gym and total lack of bugs and inspects and any other animal that could attack and harm me.

I hope to say the same some years from now .. that we moved to a tropical island.. But as far as it comes to moving countries, and even when it was impulsive like our first move, I totally agree that I never regretted this. It feels like the world is on our feet once you know its all not that complicated, right?

I never expected it to be so easy actually! A lot of people see only problems, while actually you find your way around in no time. No regrets, ever!

Agree on that one. If I think about it I may even find these movings abroad easier to adapt then when I moved in Holland lol. Maybe because with moving abroad I had expectations of it to be harder to adapt I dont know.. weird but in my case true. I like the adventure .. and other cultures.. and speaking other languages haha

It's awesome that you found the courage to make such a move! I'm pretty sure I would never be able to leave Belgium behind. I'll miss out on those life-experiences though, but that's okay. I also would have to much problems leaving my friends and family behind I think. How many times a year do you come back to Holland?

It varies a bit how often I am back there. Sometimes 2 times a year, something 1, depends what is going on :)

Its true missing friends and family is not easy at all, but its also fantastic to learn new cultures and meet new people. It makes you richer as person in the end I believe :)

O yes! Happy days
But still, I am lucky enough to travel a bit all over the world. Every time I go away and visit a new country I enjoy it to the fullest.
Nevertheless, it does make me appreciate Holland more and more. It making me see how good life is in this flat and small country. All we have to do is stop complaining and enjoy what we have here.

Amen to this! People do realize at all how good Holland is as a nation to live it. Of course there are flaws but in general people dont have it too bad and the social system is good

ik kijk ook al uit om op zo een eiland te genieten van mijn pesioen, groeten

Ja en kijk daar kun je dus eigenlijk beter niet op wachten ;)

Waarom wachten tot dan als je ook nu kan, dat was mijn idee erachter!

I think you have made the only choice you could make, ofcourse you had to go. Nobody can predict the future, but for now you live in a beautiful place.

Yes for now this is perfect and the place I love to be :)

Is what it is.. until is isn't anymore. Nice I like it! 😝

Right?? You cant plan everything in life. Im not making any major decisions for now, we will see how it all goes, and the sky is the limit on what direction to go after this.

i think you made a good choice, the Netherlands will always be there if you get tired of the island.
you have to take the chance when he is there

Its true, I always have a very good place to go back to!

But man...I would really need some adjustment again I think haha. Dutch culture and Caribbean culture is really a different thing :)

Can I be so curious to ask what kind of job you have?

Yes of course you can. I work in surgery in the local hospital :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94