why do people with dark skin have lighter palm hands?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Today, I have attended a session about a topic related to university. the presenter was African so I noticed that his hand is so much lighter in color than his skin.
he was really a very nice guy and I felt maybe if I asked him he would get hurt or think that I'm racist, That's why I preferred to keep the question in mind and go ask google, and here what I have got.
hand-663726_640.jpg

So I found that the skin color is determined by a thing named Melanin which is important to protect the skin from UV rays (Ultraviolet) but at the same times it darkens the skin.
being in the shade most of the time isn't the real cause actually but It's the lack of Melanin in the palms and soles of feet.
And It's as simple as that! :D
shall you have any additional information, don't hesitate to add it a comment.
Thanks!

Sort:  

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39