The art of asking: Create your own opportunities ❤️

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Why are people so scared to ask for help? Some common reasons why people are scared to ask for help are:

#1. They don’t want to burden others
#2. They are scared to be judged by others
#3. Their pride gets in the way

art-of-asking.jpg

I personally believe that asking for what you want in life, is a good thing. People thrive in communities for a reason; people help other people rise above. While you can do many things alone, when you work in teams, often the success of the group is far greater.

The ability to ask for help is a skill. It may be awkward or make you feel uncomfortable to admit you might not know everything and that you need help. You just need to get out of your own way! There are so many kind and generous people out there that want to help you! Think of a time you helped someone; didn’t you feel good helping out? When you ask for help you, not only do you benefit, but the other person on the other end also benefits. Potentially, you could even make a new friend!

Asking also creates opportunities. Letting the universe know your intentions and what you are looking for in life can help you get to where you want to be faster. Other people cannot read your mind, and you shouldn’t expect them too.

https://www.ted.com/talks/amanda_palmer_the_art_of_asking
*In this Ted Talk by Amanda Palmer, she talks about the art of asking. I was really inspired and moved by her speech.

19106004_10154362329151895_7272516820928995285_n.jpg
*In my acroyoga community, we are always asking to play with each other, and for others to help keep us safe in new moves. Although it is not shown in this photo, we actually had 3 other people supporting us making sure all of our flyers were safe in this photo. If we never asked for help, it would have been very dangerous to get into and out of the pose safely. Plus, we would not have had the ability to get creative and come up with new acro poses!

I hope this post encourages you to give other people a chance! Be brave and ask for what you need!

Sort:  

I completely agree with you! We should be brave in asking for help! I am tying to practice this myself. "Ask and you shall receive." :)

That's a great attitude to have in life. :)

Thanks for resteeming :)

So welcome! 😄

Wow those acro poses are incredible.
It's true, When you refuse to ask for help, you rob another person of being able to help.
Wonderful post :)

Thank you Kaylin. :) You should try acroyoga sometime. If you ever get a chance to visit Sacramento. @acromott and I will show you some cool tricks.

Also, well said! You just summed up what I wanted to say :)

P.S. Love your content and what you have to say. You have a beautiful soul, and I'm glad you are a part of the Steemit community.

I love your picture! It looks insanely difficult and cool! I read somewhere once that asking for help is giving someone else the gift of giving because giving is more of a blessing than receiving. 😊

On a related now, I find curating posts and upvoting other people on Steemit oddly satisfying!

aww well I appreciate the support! :) I agree 100%. When people ask for help, they are being vulnerable, and it brings us closer. I find it a blessing when I get the opportunity to give back. That's why Steemit is amazing... it allows us to help others and to give back to the community! Happy curating, you are doing a great job. I saw you resteemed @kaylinart's latest blog. I'm a big fan of her writing and what she says. You're doing awesome.

A lot of us are really stuck in the concept of exchange. We can't really imagine or don't really respect anything outside of it. I think the idea to "pay it forward" kind of open some minds though. I really love the concept of the gift economy and try to use "pay what you want" to spread it.

I need a good salary for just being who I am so I can put all my time and energy into inspiring and forging community.

I love the pay it forward mentality. I do believe in Karma. What you give to the universe you will receive in the future.

You're right... I ask for help for my blog ! Visit him <3

I'm getting cramps watching these Acroacrobatic moves / poses. Wow, that looks painful and hard to do. Must take a lot of balance/coordination and of course core strength. Good grief. Follow me for content. Thnx

All it takes is practice and a lot of trust! :) I'll check you out.

I totally agree with your post of view thanks a lot for sharing and keep on posting ;)

Thank you! :) Thanks for reading.

Congratulations @karensuestudios! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

From what I know, there are 2 types of people we will turn into based on our up bringing.

  1. We ask everyone for what we need and if they say no it is ok and we move on.

  2. We only ask people who we assume will say yes.

In my opinion, doesn't hurt to ask and if you don't ask, you don't get.

That's true. Never thought to categorize it like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58474.85
ETH 2500.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39