Ticking off tasks to help quieten my brain, getting jobs done slowly.

in #life4 years ago

I did it, I ticked off all my tasks for the day. This it to help me sort my head out by writing a few things down that needs to be done, tick them off when done then one less thing to think about. I talked about this with my therapist who helped me by using an clip from Harry Potter. This is when Dumbledore uses his wand to take a thought from his own head, for me to imagine i am doing the same then writing my thought on a piece of paper making room in my brain, 1 less thing going through mu mind.

My list was:

Get out of bed before 1pm. ( I can lay in there all day)
Shower and wash my hair
Go into the garden and wrap Groot up for the Winter.
(Groot is a bush my daughter bought me.)
Write down the Christmas presents i have bought.

Tomorrows list will be much the same apart from the garden, i will give myself another task to do out there. Once i am doing these without any problems i will add to the list another task. I am over the moon Groot is wrapped with frost sheeting and the base covered with plant liner to stop from drowning him, this worked last year. I managed to lay some frost sheeting along my Fruit tree bases too. Tomorrow i will have to go out and cut a few stalk down as my Blackberry tree is spreading to far.

I used one of my many writing pads to make a note of all the Christmas presents i have in and who for. I have managed to buy quite a few, this makes me feel a little lighter as now i know what i need. I am just about finished. I now have to wrap them, with having the Christmas Tree up I can now wrap them placing them under the Tree, we have all talked about the expense so all have to cut down what we buy and only buy what we need, nothing else. I will wrap a couple each day, to much pressure will send me backwards and i don't want that.

It felt good ticking them off on by one, feeling as if i had achieved something today, its a move forward and less for me to worry about. I am still tapping my problems away, sometimes i feel better after 5 minutes other times it takes around 40 minutes, it works so i will continue to use it. I am still waiting to see if the change in my medication is working.

I have found something good that has come out of my suicide attempt, my family has become closer, they have all said they can now see the signs and will be more aware it it happens again. We are all going for family therapy so we can talk about it and have our say and hopefully get a few answers. My family are more relaxed, there is no shouting and there is a lot more care, asking how we all feel, how our days have gone. We talk a lot more plus the best thing is we all listen more. We all need to talk and listen a lot more plus noticing changes. Talking helps.


Thank you @son-of-satire

Sort:  

Making a list of things to do is a good way to get motivated, I do it often both for home and work, there is a good feeling checking things of the list ;)

let tomorrow be another good day :)

I keep on trying and still here so must be doing something right:)

Just saw your post Sprout is so cute :)

She is lovely and so much fun :)

Thats what I get from your posts :)

It's always good to read a good-news story in the morning, and yours was it.

I have always said to people I mentor that setting small achievable goals and ticking them off one by one is one method of building a platform, foundation, from which to launch bigger and better things. It's something I've done and it works for me.

Big things are simply loads of little ones all combined huh?

Well done and all the best for tomorrow's list...The weekend in general. 😁

Thank you i appreciate that. It means a lot.
I am determined these lists are going to be full of jobs i have out off for too long, they will gradually grow as i do. Startkng low so it's easy to achieve then lifting the bar slightly as i get stronger. The only thing to stop me is the weather, its turning really bad here in the UK, we have strong winds, rain and thick snow is in its way. I hate snow. I'll start making my lists in the morning firstly seeing what the weather has in store.

When i was talking to my therapist she did say aim for achievable goals ones you know you can reach then once your stronger you can aim higher. One thing i didn't put on my list was get back into Steemit, that's something else i can be proud of :)

You have it all moving in the right direction, now, if only you can dispose of that pesky snow!

I always added a page in my annual personal business/life plan with the heading The done list. The page was otherwise blank. It allowed me to write the things on my to do list, my goals as I achieved them. At times I was feeling aimless, unproductive or unmotivated I'd flip over to that page and see all the things my hard work had achieved...That helped find a little extra spark and push forward and back to the right frame of mind to get back on it.

Worked well for me.

That is a good idea, would def give me a boost when feeling less productive. I will start my own Done list tomorrow. It will be good to look back on when im better Thank you.

As for thr Snow... gives me shivers thinking about it. I will hibernate until Spring :)

I'm glad you like it, most I mention it to seem to see the value. Hope it goes well for you.

Don't forget to post event now and then during your snowbernation. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94