My Father gave his garden more love than he gave his children

in #life7 years ago

I have mentioned my past before growing up with a violent father (Colin) I will call him Colin from now on as I don't class his as my father and a mother who was to scared to stand up to him. This is more about Colin and who he was as a man, I definitely think he had adult ADHD thinking about the things he used to do and the quick temper he had. He was very strict and old fashioned, children are meant to be heard and not seen.

My daughter has ADHD and its usually passed down on the men's side but think this time it had come from me as I was a l lot like him temper wise and liking this done n a certain way.

Colin had his hobbies and nothing got in the way if them not even his 5 children, If he had put as much love into his family as he did his garden there wouldn't have been a problem. Colin grew his own veg in his back garden, he wouldn't use an allotment as he didn't like being around other people. He liked to be organised, everything had a place, he had his seat in the sitting room above him was a shelf that he kept all his things on, he knew where everything was and knew if someone had touched it. He was exactly the same with his garden.

COLIN'S GARDEN

All his vegetables had there own line, standing next to each other like soldiers, As you can see at the bottom is a gate leading into the back field, if we wanted to go out and play that's where we would go, no one was allowed near his garden and god help anyone who accidentally kicked a ball there, you would hear him screaming and going into a mad temper. You would run and hide for as long as you could hoping he would calm down... HE NEVER DID

He ran his whole life like this, everything had a time and place and anyone who got in the way would pay for it. Jessica is the same she hates change. she likes o stick to a routine with time and places, if anyone changes those plans she gets upset exactly the same way he did.

I am not forgiving the man for what he did, he was an adult and should have known better but understand ADHD like I do and him being untreated it must have been hard to stop the rage or focus his mind.


Thank you son-of-satire

Hi I am Karen, I am here to write about my life and read about yours.. If you like what you read please upvote and leave me a message so I can come visit youfollow me on Twitter
Sort:  

I enjoyed your story Karen. Thanks for sharing it. Upvote and follow! @homesteader

My father was Mr. Fuck-n-Run, I only saw him 3-4 times, so I grew up without one. Between the two of us, I'm probably the better off. ADHD is NO excuse, I'm sure I have it and I never treated my children badly. Probably because I had to make it up as I went along.

Me too I would never harm my children. He just didn't care.

Sounds more like some supreme selfishness and immaturity than ADHD!

Be was both, it was all about him

I sensed that reading your post!

Here it is Happy Mothers Day, so have a kiwi greeting for a good mum.

It seems ADHD was common in the olden days, there, not named, and no treatment. My father would flare at anything, but it would only last for a short time, as a kid i was very fast over the first 50 yards, by then dad had run out of breath, (one of my joys of him being a heavy smoker,)and gone back home. By the time I got there he had calmed down and things could resume.

It was undiagnosed back then but still very much there

This is a good business in my opinion.

Thank you very much dear friend @ karenb54 for another piece of your life, I regret your stormy childhood, that beautiful garden had your father.
Greetings to all your loved ones
Have a beautiful weekend

Thank you for reading dear friend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58566.25
ETH 2542.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48