Looking for a replacement car as Betsy isn't well. She's old and falling to bits.

in #life7 years ago

Me and hubby are car hunting, with our Betsy being 14 years old we need to start looking for a replacement, I have been hanging on to Betsy as she has been a brilliant runner, very reliable. We have noticed that every year there is always something more that needs doing to her, she is starting to rust around the edges with bits starting to fall off. But still only got 90000 on the clock.

This is Betsy when she got a special valeting last year.

We can't afford a new one so going for a second hand one that's a lot younger than ours. Now i am clueless when is comes to cars and hubby is pretty useless with everything other than bricks. I think the best thing to do is to go to a dealership other than a private dealer. There is so many things we could miss and go wrong.

car.jpg

I have my eye on a Nissan Quashqui, love how these look but never been inside one. They are the perfect size for us and our dogs, I prefer Nissan cars and that's Betsy's manufacturer, good long lasting cars.

Nissan Quashquai.
car2.jpg


Thank you @son-of-satire

Sort:  

My last two cars have been Mazdas and I love them. Very reliable and nice to drive. My CX3 is like the Quashquai but smaller. The CX5 would be about the same size I think.

But the CX3 would be big enough for you and the dogs no worries. And it is much easier to drive around and park etc.

if hubby has a mate who is a mechanic, or you know of a good one, take any car you're looking at to him and get it checked.

I think the AA also do pre-purchase inspections. It's worth the expense up front to make sure you don't buy a lemon.

Having said that, most modern cars are pretty good these days.

Also check out the Top Gear website for reviews. They are really good and give you a good idea of what the car is like and if it is worth the asking price.

I hope that helps ;-)

Sounds good, I'll definitely think about Mazdas, the parking is a good point as its not hubby best move. Sometimes i have to change seats to park.
One thing i don't understand about cars is. The years. I have seen cares that are older than mine with more miles but asking for more than mine. I can drive, deal with the water for the windy wipers and that's it. Bloody useless lol

Where are you located? For the US and Canada, this is a pretty exhaustive guide written by people who work in the car business: https://www.reddit.com/r/askcarsales/wiki/index

I live in the UK :)

Ah, it all works so differently in Europe, my knowledge won't be any help for you :(

Thank you anyway :)

Car hunting can be quite a task. So much to consider. Beleive it or not, my Jeep (actually a Kia Sportage, everything is a jeep here lol) is 18 years old and still running like a top. Can't give her up yet, even though my sons think I should...

Wow That's some age, some cars are built to last :)

Congratulations @karenb54! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you :)

I like the look of the Quashqui. It’s my choice too. 🐓🐓

I Have always wanted that car, will have to win the lottery :)

Realistically, I have a Hyundai that Is without a doubt one of the best cars I have ever owned. I can’t kill it. Just change the oil and tires.

Maybe you will make enough steem to help you purchase the one you want. 🐓

I doubt that lol but i will continue to try :)

I would love a brand new one, you never know :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80