Had a busy day with ups and down, thankfully finished on a UP.

in #life7 years ago

I have had such a busy day with ups and downs, we had a surveyor coming today to make sure the bathroom had 100% correct to start, with being disabled when anyone comes to the house I am anxious as it takes me ages to answer the door so when they are due I make my way to the kitchen to sit and wait. He was first supposed to come at 4 but then phoned and re-scheduled for 2. We got the go ahead BUT when me and hubby were sorting the fittings out last Saturday I am sure they gave us 1st of September but the surveyor said its the 4th, I am gutted as those extra days make a big difference with more waiting.

We have had quite a bit of trouble with the HMRC this year with putting in hubby's tax forms. we spent 45 minutes trying to get our page to work, spending the same amount of time of the phone to the tax office who was helping us sort it out. We got to the submit page, when we clicked submit it automatically logged us out so we thought that it was done so left it there. we then started getting letters about being charged a late payment fee of £100, we again spent ages on the phone talking to tax who told us to appeal against it as obviously something had gone wrong as they could see on there screen what we had done. They then told is to log back into our account to see what had gone wrong, the first page we got was your claim has now been submitted No one told us that when we were automatically logged out we had to log back in for it to submit.

We got a letter about the appeal saying we had lost as we didn't have a good enough excuse so again hubby spent another hour on the phone speaking to a horrible lady, she refused to listen to him, told him "you won't win the claim, you must pay the charges" which was now £210, she was really nasty. Hubby paid the money then appealed again.

We got a letter this morning saying we had won our claim so hubby is back on the phone asking for our money back.

A nice little donation to my shower room fund :)


Thank you son-of-satire

Sort:  

Best post. Thanks!!!

Thank you :)

Good job on getting that claim and winning it. I'm happy for you. Sometimes those persons who are working for the government or local government do not think about how hard and how much time we have to dedicate of doing their stuff ( they think is easy because they were trained).

Thank you, There is no need for them to be so nasty, its not there money. So happy we won, just shame we couldn't talk to her again and rub her nose in it lol :)

Thanks for sharing - I am going thru a similar thing, in that I am now 'waiting' for a contractor to show UP.

It's irritating; he was to come Mon./Tuesday & hasn't shown at all. Anyhow, I am sorry you 're going to hv to wait an EXTRA 3 days.

Too bad about yr 'log-out' issue, as well

Am UPVOTING you.

Thank you, I hope your contractor sorts himself out, they annoy me as they want paying for a job there not doing on time. Very annoying

I can imagine how frustrating those people working for the government could be most times, but i am really glad you won.

Thank you, Me too :)

It is good to read this news, that good dear friend @ karenb54 that everything is favorable, thank you very much for sharing this experience.
you have a good night

Thank you for visiting and reading my post :)

I´m really looking forward to see your bathroom once it´s finished :)

Thank you, I can't wait :)

Great news for you! I too am waiting on a similar situation. We bought a property with a run down vacant home with the intention to demo it. We are currently paying taxes on a big 3 bedroom home that is in NO way habitable. I didn't realize the time and headache it would take to get an appeal. Ughhhh I hope we get good news as well! :)

Its disgusting how they treat people, I hope your sorted soon :)

I'm glad you won! Congratulations!

Thank you :)

hello Karen
Already passed the disadvantages, it is good that the problem was solved positively.
Good for your health.
Have a good afternoon.

Thank you very much :)

I'm sorry about the annoying tax stuff! But I'm so happy about your shower room! I'm sad I saw this late.

Its all done now, looking forward to a easier and cleaner future lol thank you hun :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85