Able-bodied or Disabled I'm still me I'm still here.

in #life7 years ago

I remember the days when I could do what any able bodied person could do, stand and make a meal, clean the house, take my dogs for a walk, do some shopping, go swimming, wake up and walk downstairs, doing all of these and more without a tear without pain. Things most of you do without thinking.

Now think what if:
What if something happened to stop you leading a normal life, how would you manage, how would you cope because I can tell you its a massive shock.

We take what we do and how we do it for granted, I know I did, just pulling on a pair off shoes and going for a walk simple Then something blows up your world then its not so simple. Such as getting a wash you know my story about that

Going from a very active life style to a sedentary one has alot of consequences. Put on weight, become housebound, lonely and depressed.

When I do see people I get stupid comments like great you can catch up on all the box sets, great for not having to get up In the morning, ohh you can lie in all day.
I want to shout out are you for f ing real how would you like to live with no social life, no independance, no friends, having to ask for help all the time, no privacy.

I thought I had lots off support around me but one by one they disappear and stop calling. Just because I am disabled doesnt mean I can't hold a conversation or that I stop caring. Ok I can't go out with you but doesnt mean me I don't want to hear about it.

I'm still Me I'm still Karen


Thank you @son-of-satire


Thank you @artedellavita

Sort:  

Karen,there is always illusion of support in life through friends and family but after all we all have to deal with whatever life throws at us on our own. You will find amazing resources within yourself if you just don’t give up. This is not a pep talk. I know you know more than just this. I am talking to myself too. Hang in there.

I'm hanging lol been like this to long now, prefer the company of my dogs anyway :)

Congratulations @karenb54! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

karenb54 you sound upbeat despite starting off sounding pissed off. I would be if I had to fo through what you're going through. I live with someone who lives with chronic pain and as I am fortunate in that I don't it's hard to understand. But I do and try to make life more comfortable for him. But you say you're alone, but you have your dogs and a garden? That's great and my sympathies go out to you, but not my pity. You're on Steemit and if you communicate you will make friends. Happy Steeming!

I have my hubby and daughter but they do there own things leaving me home, just wish I could join in. Thank you :)

Happy to hear you have your family. I can only imagine your frustration. Garden on and enjoy your dog and look to the future on Steemit!

Thank you and you :)

Nice bro.

Follow me @amazingtech and upvote
And get upvotes everyday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99