A little TLC has worked on my Raspberry bush, More gardening and making plans for a busy Saturday. 🌺🌼

in #life4 years ago

I am enjoying this lovely weather, the sun definitely makes me feel better. I have been in to the garden checking all my hard work, my seedlings are not quite ready to be potted into larger pots, there are a few that are getting close. I have had to work out what i need to continue growing flowers. I have started using Jiffy peat pods that are so much easier than bags of compost, you can plant a lot more seeds in the space you would have used to start seedlings off.


New Pods.jpg

I have ordered another 250, i think i will still need to order more to keep my garden full of flowers. I love these little pods, they are so much better than a bag of compost, take less space and you can grow a lot more seeds. By the time these arrive most of my green house will be ready to move on to there next stage leaving me 2 shelves empty for me to fill with the pods.

I have watered the seeds in my green house and pulled the front flap down, zipped them up as its a little windy, don't want the wind to do any damage.

There wasn't much i could do today so concentrated on weeding and tidying up the pots, i started with my fruit bushes. Last year i thought i was losing my Raspberry tree, it went all brow and dry, i didn't want to give up on it so carried on with feeding, watering and some TLC. This was my Raspberry Bush last year.

Raspberry Bush 2019


garden 5.jpg

I trimmed it back hoping he would start to grow again. This year he looks completely different, think my TLC worked.

Raspberry Bush 2020


Raspberry 2020.jpg

I have trained it grow through the trellis tying it so it hopefully grows upward, he is looking really healthy. I can see quite a few flowers and seen a few Bee's visiting.

I am having the same problem with my Blueberry bush, its planted alongside Blackberry bush, he was looking OK last year but this year he has gone the same way the Raspberry bush did. I am not going to dig it up, i will do what i did with the Raspberry bush and hope he comes back. I have clipped the Blackberry bush down and tied it to the trellis too give the Blueberry bush room.


Blackberry 2020.jpg

We have a lovely console table that we bought for hubby's fish tank but then he bought a full fish tank built in with cupboards so the console table is stuck in the passage, i was going to sell it until i noticed the top there is a large patch from water damage, we have decided to put it into my garden so i will use it for my seedlings, will save me from bending down plus will give me room underneath to store my pots tidily. We are getting this sorted on Saturday, hubby said he will put his work clothes on and get it done.

We are then going to get the front garden sorted, i am going to lay some defender strip that you lay to keep cats off your garden, they sometimes use my front garden as a litter tray. We will lay this then cover with new bark then add a few pots.

I am looking forward to Saturday, its going to be hard work, my bones are going to hurt, my knee is going to hurt but it will be worth it as then i can move around the garden easier and have everything i need in there right places. Just got to hope the weather stays as nice as it is.

Sort:  

I love jiffy pots, so easy to use and great results

just buy a truck load of them :)

Wish i could afford a truck load :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55819.41
ETH 2522.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32