6 months pregnant and battling with with a drunk thief is not a sensible thing to do.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Another story from my days working at Holland & Barratt. I mentioned in my last post were the shop was situated in The Bigg Market. Back then going back 30 years, it was a long street that had markets on around 4 times a week, there were loads of pubs and betting shops, there were a lot of drunks hanging around there, we were actually sat on top of one pub. There was so many bad ones hanging around we were bound to get a few in the shop.

I was around 6 months pregnant with my first child, I was going on maternity soon so spending my last few days doing light tasks. We shut at 5.30 so started tidying things away when this man came in, he was drunk really drunk, he was falling all over the place walked to the shelf's and started filling his coat up with handfuls of stock of the shelf, I phoned the police straight away hoping they would send someone down quickly, he was quite a large bloke.

There was me, another older assistant plus a male assistant, I told our make assistant to come help me but he decided to hide in the back, me and the older assistant tried to get the man to drop everything and get out, he wouldn't listen, he just kept filling his coat then turned towards the door, I was hanging onto his coat while my other assistant held the door shut,I had to be careful with being pregnant, was hoping for our male assistant to take over. The thief managed to get free then ran off.

The police took 45 minutes to get there, They took our details and statements then left. the thief got away with a fortune worth of stock, I never found out if they caught him.


Thank you @son-of-satire

Sort:  

Interesting story @karenb54. Hope all went well further on with the pregnancy.

Yes thankfully she arrived in good health :)

It created suspense and emotional story as well

Thank you for visiting :)

You was silly.
A. The stock wasn't yours.
B. Stock can be replaced, miscarriages can't
C. With their workload the response time was reasonable, that is a long toime to keep him there.
D. UK needs the 2nd amendment, then you could have blasted him all over the pavement and been a hero.
E. You made it OK, that is the main thing, else I would have no one to bitch at lol

I know I should have helped him fill his coat for all the Thanks I got. I'm so glad I saved myself so you would have someone to pick on haha

Glad you got through it OK...

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you :)

Silly you! You could have gotten seriously hurt. I am sure the bosses didn't thank you. And what's with your male assistant? Lacking balls was he?

He didn't last long after that, the bosses didn't care.

Silly you! You could have gotten seriously hurt. I am sure the bosses didn't thank you. And what's with your male assistant? Lacking balls was he?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79