2018 is nearly here, Sorting my plans for the future.

in #life7 years ago

Are you making plans for the New year?

I am having a good think about it as I usually jump in with plans that never last mainly because I as to much of myself.

I have made the same resolution for over 20 years, to start a diet. When everyone is back to work. this year I have decided NO I am not going to start a diet
I am going to start eating healthy
I am not going to cut things out just think before I buy do I really want this, do I really need this
I am going to make better choices

Every year I put so much pressure on myself, if I have a bad day then i ruin the whole week instead of just putting that mistake to one side and move on from it. My biggest mistake is to read the scales to much, when the scales say I have lost weight then everything is fabulous when the scales say I have put on well then its the end of the world and my diet is ruined.

With being a woman the scales can change from week to week what with monthly surprises, water retention, Menopause and the list goes on, this year I am not going to go on the scales I am going to measure myself at the beginning of every month then make a note of it, No scales involved

Its not going to be about me, its about us as a family, we are all starting a healthy eating plan so we are all in it together, here to support each other. Cooking meals for us all not one for me and one for them which will make cooking and shopping easier. Doing it together will encourage each of us to keep going. I am also going to make small targets for us and instead of rewarding us with food it will be something little, nails done, hair done, a bet on the horses for hubby.

I have wasted well over 20 years being focused on my weight and I still have yet to reach my target, this year is different, its not about the weight its about our health and changing how we think about food. Growing up it was instilled in me that when your good treat yourself with goodies and that what I have always done, Now I have dealt with my past and all the abuse now its time to deal with this but do it in a way I haven't done before.

Something has to change, my mind and thoughts need to change, so in slow steps and not putting to much pressure by jumping on the scales every day I will focus on inches.


Thank you @son-of-satire


Thank you @artedellavita

Sort:  

@karenb54

If new year's resolutions don't work for you & you haven't tried it already I highly recommend yearcompass, which is a kind of journal you spend an afternoon filling out at the start of the year. http://yearcompass.com

I did it for the first time last year and the way it forced me to reflect and plan was a bunch more effective than making a regular new year's resolution - since it involves seeing how all your goals fit together and are grounded in what's come before them.

Thank you, I will take a look, it just might help :)

very good planing friend @karenb54

Thank you :)

Those scales lie, they sit tucked away and work out a routine, down a bit, down a bit, and when you least expect it, up a lot.
By measuring at least you will get good at holding your tummy in.

I can't hold it in that long hahah will do myself an injury

Tape measures lie also, just so you know when it happens.

Then i must try harder :)

excellent plan for 2018 dear friend @ karenb54, I wish everything goes according to plan

Me too. Thank you @jlufer :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62934.10
ETH 2452.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66