12 days then I'm Codeine free, dreading it as the pain is getting worse.

in #life6 years ago

I am coming of Codeine slowly over 2 years, I was on 8 x 30mg tablets now down to 1 x 30mg but the pain is getting worse, i was woken at half 2 with it so had to top up with paracetamols, they don't help for long.

Thankfully hubby brings my breakfast up at half 6 so can take my full medication then. I know coming of Codeine is a good thing but if the pain is getting worse what am. I supposed to do. The 8 I was taking were definitely controlling the pain better. If this is what i have to look forward to I would rather take them.

I have been discharged from the pain clinic as they can't do anymore with my medication, suppose being allergic to Morphine doesn't help, surely there is something I can take that will help.

I take.
Lyrica 3 x 300mg
Duloxetine 3 x 30mg
Naproxen 2 x 500mg
Codeine 1 x 30mg
Paracetomals
Lidocaine Pain patches at night time.

I have around 12 days left then Codeine free, dreading the pain then.

bitmoji-20180214074552.png


Thank you son-of-satire

Sort:  

Think positively, Karen. You are almost done with codeine. I am sure there are other options out there, they just don't want people to know. My cousin just went through this. He had to have cancer surgery, chemotherapy and radiation. They failed to tell him there was another option because it wasn't covered by his insurance! The nerve!

Omg That's terrible, its all about the money. I hope your cousin is on the road to recovery :)

He is, thanks. But it seems that is what it comes to anymore...the money!

That's good. Money before life's...its disgusting

Why are you coming off the codeine?

I have too as it aggravates my fibro but without my knee pain returns. Seems i can't win :(

Oh dear! I would have thought if you're not addicted you could just carry on with it. You will have to see which pain is worse. That REALLY sucks! I'm sorry!

It does, My rheumatologist doesn't like them, took me 2 years to come off them but now I am feeling the pain, haven't a clue what to do now

Oh dear, maybe you need a second opinion?

Giving up is never an option.
Its just 12days, you are almost there

Then possibly more pain :(

That's dope sickness for you.

I know it's very difficult to think positively in such a situation :( But soon spring will come, you will be busy caring for your beautiful garden and everything will get better. Hug you

Yeah :) I can't wait to be able to sit outside again

Hope everything will be well soon ! You can try Alternative Medicine like Ayurbeda and Natural medicine !

Thank you :)

Maybe you could try CBD oil, some people say it works. Have a research of it and tell me what you think, you can buy it in Holland and Barrett .

http://www.hollandandbarrett.com/shop/product/jacob-hooy-cbd-oil-60008899

I've tried it the taste is revolting. I need to find another way of taking it as the drop under my tongue makes me sick. Its the worst taste ever lol

I have ra and have used it in the past. Just throw it back with water. That under the tongue business is not needed. And if you can afford to - rub it on to pain areas. It really helped my that way and shrunk the nodules.

That's as idea, they could make it taste better lol

I had to stop caring about taste. If it helps my pain and inflammation, I eat it. If it hurts me, I don't eat it. About 90% of all food is off limits for me, so I do the best I can with the rest of it. I love the nutrition and the way it makes me feel, even if it's weird and others think I am nuts. They won't be there if I start screaming in pain with full body cramps at 3 am.

I started a healthy eating plan 4 weeks ago, hoping that will help.

Best wishes to you... I hope you will find a good solution in your medicine use and at the same time can get a better life without all your pain and suffering...it's never a option to give up. Try to be in good mood and the future is bright 🔆 💐🙏

Thank you :)

I am very sorry for your discomfort dear friend @ karenb54, I hope that the solution will arrive soon.
I wish you a late afternoon

Thank you :)

Ouch. Not a good place to be in.

No its not, haven't a clue what to do now :(

I wish I could help, but pain pills scare me. Fortunately, I've never had the need for 'em over and above acute. Sad to hear that you've had a different kind of luck.

I wish I could throw the lot in the bin but unfortunately I can't or I would end up throwing myself of the nearest cliff. Think another visit to the Drs to see if I can have something else but being allergic to morphine makes it hard. I have even asked them to chop my knee off but they wont as I could get phantom pain that they then couldn't deal with.

I wish I could throw the lot in the bin but unfortunately I can't or I would end up throwing myself of the nearest cliff.

Jeez, that's a tough spot to be in. The closest I've come, which isn't all that close, was a day when I dropped my side of a 300 lb. concrete step right on my thumb. The pain was such that I guzzled down beer for pain relief.

But in my case, it lasted only a day. Chronic, it's much worse.

Its 24/7, its numbed with medication but still there then on top of that I have a damaged knee that hurts constantly, must have been a evil bitch in my past life as paying for it now

Or maybe you're pre-paying to become a princess in the next life. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98