You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Posting Because You Think Your Stuff Is Interesting?

in #life5 years ago

I'm so glad you said that about the actifit posts. Between those and the ones about Steem and Steemit, I skip over a lot. Now yours, I read the post and all the comments.

Sort:  

There's a lot of good stuff here in the comment section. Gives me a chance to clear things up and also get a feel for what others think about this. It's a good sign when people want to see what they consider to be good stuff.

Those fitness reports; it's for the best people realize many out consuming the content skip over those. I've often wondered why that can't just be included in a post with some meat on the bone. If I didn't know that report card was inside the post, there's a stronger chance I'd click the post.

Steem posts; it's good to learn but you have to find reliable sources. There's a lot of misinformation and uneducated guesses out there. Many feel like their an expert, then I'll go read and cringe at some of the things being said. I still see posts that encourage new members to go look for people with money, get their attention, and hope that leads to votes. Guiding people towards offering disingenuous praise. In reality, people hounding me for a vote is one of the only things I don't enjoy about this place.

Early on, I read someone's definition of a quality post, and it included headings, references, a certain number of words, photos, photo attribution - I don't remember it all exactly, but those things seem to attract, I'm guessing, the bots that bring the human curators.

I figured out early on that I could do those and it would attract attention to varying degrees of financial success. Of course, they also take time if you're researching a subject or want to have good photos. And as much as I would love to travel and write full time, sometimes life gets in the way. When I have the time to really curate, I like the every day nature photos and then I want variety.

You've probably noticed I break most of those rules. Strange how the ones writing the rules don't make much money.

Maybe you should try them. Who knows? You might do even better. It could be the topic of your next post. You're welcome. lol

Actually, you have artwork and you don't need to attribute it because you tell us it's yours, and you write quite a few words, you always have an interesting title, and the bold words might be thought of as headings. Beyond that, in marketing terms, you definitely have a brand.

I've done a few How To Steemit posts. It's usually just clickbait and I turn the whole thing into a trainwreck about four lines in. The humor is easier to pull off when you catch people off guard. Same with the fiction. The story seems more convincing if the reader doesn't realize it's fiction until the end. If someone was teaching me how to do this stuff, they'd tell me to do it the other way around. And that's probably why they write lessons and not humor.

Oh, I think you could do a very good job of making fun of these rules. I'm not suggesting you do something serious. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.77
ETH 2579.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44