Thoughts from the Balcony: A Beetle Carcass, Legos, and a Weekend of Enjoyment.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Kabutomushi-JapaneseBeetle-July2004.jpg
SOURCE


Well, I was supposed to be sleeping now.

As usual, when I have that idea (that I am going to get a long, full night's rest) it doesn't work out that way. Lots to do. Lots to think about. And as such, here I am on the blockchain, dear reader, conveying my thoughts to you.

With a big move coming up, and tax season upon us, the stresses of life in modern civilization have lended themselves to me smoking a cigarette on the balcony at 3 AM, thinking about the days immediately before me.

My loving wife, @mslight2016st, has been working her buns off taking care of the myriad things to be done on the home front, and making sure our son is entertained and not simply zombifying 24/7 in front of YouTube videos in our small apartment. She needs a break. To that end, my boy and I will be heading to Tokyo tomorrow (and maybe Sunday) to relax and check out Legoland (a mini-Lego amusement park in the city) and enjoy some quality time together.

The cold, diamond stars and an old, cold, beetle husk.

Out on the balcony I was reminded of our receipt of a couple large beetles this summer, from one of my son's friends. Keeping stag beetles as pets is kind of a "thing" here in Japan, and we were given a couple in a small plastic enclosure last year. We had purchased some bedding and food for them at the local department store, but they didn't last long at all. I think they were already nearing the end when we had received them in the waning days of late summer.

It may seem strange, but the last beetle to die has popped in and out of my thoughts semi-frequently since then. I morbidly wonder what "his" carcass looks like (thought I don't check anymore), and half-heartedly make mental plans to dispose of the contents of the small enclosure. A mini reminder of the conclusion on this earthly plane that will come to us all at some point. Tonight, seeing stars twinkling ever-distant in the vast space of the black night sky, and the small plastic terrarium on the balcony at my feet in the frigid weather, was a strange reminder that in so many ways, "this is it," and that we should be enjoying our lives and those we love and cherish around us as much as humanly possible while we are still animated and ever-so-present!

I really need to hit the hay.

Looking forward to posting from Tokyo and showing you guys what Lego Land is all about. Now, though, I need to rest my still vibrant, animated, and grateful "beetle carcass" and prepare for the weekend ahead. Thanks as always for reading, guys, and enjoy your weekend!

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DTube and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

I suppose it would not be very Kafkaesque to not ponder and write about a beetle carcass when you get the opportunity.

....neither would it be not very funbobbyesque not to share your tremendous sense of humor.

Have fun at legoland with your son!

This post just made my day@kafkanarchy84 it's always a pleasure read postive stuff as you already express your positiveness towards life actually i was feeling low and having negative thoughts about life goals but after reading this i'm actually thinking positively :) Thanks for the share.

I'm really glad to hear that, @vnyrox. Thanks.

It's been a great pleasure @kafkanarchy84

Wow, this is cool man, i have being trying to pronounce your name. I love the way you conveyed your thoughts its awesome, are you still on the balcony?

@kafkarnachy84, that's a better idea.

it's good to always have a short break and rest for moments while life continues later on because:

ALL WORK WITHOUT PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY.

it's good to enjoy the best of your time while you are alife because life has no duplicate.

but is your wife @mslight2016st not coming with you guys?

anyways, my regards to your son, I will suggest you open an account for him on steemit and possibly invest in his account by buying steem and power up for future interest.

Am waiting to see the updates of your weekend/break as soon as possible.

THANKS FOR SHARING BOSS

That's really weird how they keep stag beetles of all types of pets one can have. I remember one of the local pet stores over here in New England selling giant roaches so I guess weird is relative...

It looks dangerous.

I afraid saw this insect ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23