Happy Thanksgiving 🍁

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This weekend we are celebrating Thanksgiving holidays. We won’t have turkey dinner because we didn’t grow up with this custom back in Europe (and honestly I have no idea how to cook it) but I think it doesn’t hurt to be involved in the Canadian culture since we are a part of this beautiful country.

DSC01324.JPG

I was talking to one of my friends yesterday and she told me that they never celebrated Thanksgiving and they don’t do anything special even after eight years of living in Canada. She said, “we have Thanksgiving every day when we thank for the food before every meal”.

As much as I respect everyone’s decisions and way of living I feel like we have to adapt a little bit to the culture of the country we are living in.

That doesn’t mean abandoning our own customs and forgetting about our heritage. It simply means that we’re trying to celebrate things that our friends and many other citizens value as much as we value our own.

DSC01301.JPG

Today we have a dinner scheduled even though it’s not 100% Thanksgiving dinner. We are celebrating a birthday. I feel that the two occasions are pretty similar were family meets together and enjoys a meal.

A nice thing about this weekend is that we don’t work tomorrow. This way we can relax a little bit more and maybe catch a few friends for a drink.

DSC01307.JPG

If I’d had to write down all the things I’m thankful for, the list would be very long. First, my close ones, the job that is not a struggle to go to, good supporting friends, ...

Having all these people around me makes my life happy, less stressful and that makes me healthier so I’m able to have my hobbies and enjoy life in general. Of course, I couldn’t forget about all the goods that I can afford. Healthy food, clean water and all the technology surrounding me.

DSC01303.JPG

I know it sounds very generalized and that almost everybody could write the same thing. However, being able to acknowledge all the people and keep in mind their contributions to our own success is, I believe, very important.

Have a wonderful day everyone :)

P.S. All the photos are my work. You can see Canadian Snowbirds in action.

Sort:  

Hello Happy Thanksgiving Day, this is one of the most important festivities in the United States, the emblematic dish of Thanksgiving is roasted or baked turkey.
Although you did not grow up with that custom, you make a dinner in honor of that day, I hope everything is excellent.

Greetings from Venezuela

Happy Thanksgiving thank you for celebrating and incorporating canadian traditions into your life. I was born in Canada so Thanksgiving has always been a part of life. One day to stop and have family time together and to be thankful for everything we have been blessed with. Have a great day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74