And what about your new year's resolutions?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

My dear Steemians!

How are you feeling at the beginning of new year? 2018 already!

I'm sitting in a bar after work, eating a burger (not too tasty though) with French fries and I can't help to avoid thinking about the phenomenon of a new year's resolutions.

Do you consider each new year as a fresh start? Do you believe in the idea that new year brings us new possibilities? Or maybe you prefer to see it as a continuation of your road?
I guess the question is not easy to answer because it all depends, right?

I have noticed that on social media following phrase, or its variations, is particularly popular at the moment “It's a new year. Each day is a blank page of a 365 page book. Write a good one.”

On the one hand I understand this way of reasoning. People tend to look for some kind of a push. Tomorrow I stop smoking, I will eat healthy, I will be more active. Starting from tomorrow. And why not starting from today? Why it's so difficult to follow your decision or a choice, and begin instantly? After all our resolutions aren't random, in most cases we devote a lot of our precious time and energy to them. People are a truly complicated species;)

What is our main focus in new year's resolutions? Understandable people are mostly concentrating on “improving themselves” from either inside, outside our both naturally.
We want to be more kind or understandable to others; be more assertive; stop negative thinking etc.

Less frequently we concentrate on the outside world. We feel the need to contribute more. We can decide to act in more sustainable way, become vege, start segregating refuse. We can also start supporting a refuge or a foster house. There are so many possibilities to make a small contribution to the society and our planet.

No matter what the resolution is about, we should pay attention to the following advices:
*remember to set a realistic goal;
*the goal should be measurable meaning that you should be able to keep track of the progress you make;
*don't make too many resolutions!;)

After reading some articles i discovered that a new year was the time for commitments back in ancient times! Babylonians or Egyptians, for example, apparently were making new years resolutions to their gods. prommising to return borrowed objects or pay their debts. But I'm pretty sure they were also thinking about themselves and their wellbeing. After all, they weren't much differentfrom us.

Studies show that people actually stick more often to their resolutions if they were made at the beginning of a year in opposition to those made on other occasions!

I am ending here, with this positive thought :)

If you have decided to make a new year's resolutions I keep my fingers crossed for your success!!:)

Cheers,
Kasia

Sort:  

Nice post @k-a-s-i-a. I have also written post about new year resolutions. Keep it up.

Thanks for your comment! :)

you have included lots of ideas,, for sure the majority of us considers new year as a fresh start and we mostly believe that something will change to better than before.
and I hope everyone is going to reach what they want in 2018

Thank you for your Comment and input! :)

In every new years, I waited to be happy, healty and so much money. :) But I could not find the money. I hope I will find all of them in 2018. This year will be my year. Good luck friend. :)

keep my fingers crossed for that! :)

I gave you an upvote. It's only $0.01, but it's a start! :D Hope this year is a great one for you!

Thank you. you are very generous :)

i want make 1 million dollars in new years

I think new year resolution are overrated and at the end of the year there are hardly any result just modified year resolutions.

Thanks for your comment! :)

thanks and Amen

hope so my this 2018 year spending good because 2017 was quite boaring year. @rajat1802

a cliche, but i'll say it anyway;) it only depends on you my friend:)

I do not believe in that phrase: "Every year is a new book..." because my book started more than 30 years ago, so it would be more like a "Telenovela" that has no end, and yes, I want to make each episode more beautiful.
Before I made resolutions but not with a good plan, so I was improvising to finally abandon the whole thing.
This year my resolutions will have a work plan to be able to keep them in time. :)

thank you for your comment! :) i keep my fingers crossed for your plans!

Nice post ,
I two years ago made my resolution out of christmas time : I would resume my music studies but in a different not so strict approach.
I started with piano.
Two years later I'm still fighting and learning piano and drums whenever I got free time from work or home duties .Normally people lie on the sofa and watch tvwhen they come back from work, I practice and learn.
I encourage all of you to start whatever your goal is,just move on ,time will do the rest.

very inspiring! thanks for sharing:) and good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97