How to offer compliments?

in #life7 years ago

When someone gives you a compliment, it makes your day better. I think we all know what it’s like to have a bad day or to feel down, until someone says something nice and it makes us smile again.

We all love receiving compliments, but how many of us offer them, and how many of us know how to offer compliments right? Many times we want to say something nice to someone and, without thinking much, we say things like “You look good today”, and the answer is “You mean I didn’t look good yesterday?”. Here are a few tips for making compliments the right way.

source

Make your compliment precise.


Get rid of general compliment, the dozen ones, and put the accent on a precise thing, that will show that person that you’ve noticed him/her. “This necklace looks beautiful on you” is a much nicer compliment than “you look good today”.

Support your compliment with arguments


The compliment you’re giving is much stronger if you use arguments. I’m going to keep the same example that I gave you earlier. You could strengthen your compliment by saying “This necklace looks beautiful on your, it really shows of your eyes”.

Ask a question after you give a compliment


If you want to initiate a conversation, make a question based on your compliment. “This necklace looks great on you, it really emphasizes your eyes. Where did you get it from?”.

It’s good to know that a compliment isn’t just good for the one who’s receiving it, because it strengthens their self-esteem, it’s also good for the one who’s offering it. When you offer a compliment, your self-esteem also improves because you have the courage and the initiative to notice good things in others and say it out loud.

You’ll probably meet people that will reject your nice words, but it’s important for you to understand that it’s their problem, not yours. The best way to receive a compliment is to say “Thank you”.

It’s the best way to bring a little joy in someone’s day, so don’t be scared of using them. Remember, life will give you in return what you offer. Think of compliments as of gifts that don’t cost anything, but that can mean a lot at the right moment.

U5dtjrXYyNbAczMeScAsy84ErPFaojo_1680x8400.png

My name is Farcas Ionut. I am a young entrepreneur, 21 years old, living in Bucharest (I hate Bucharest) and going to university only to lose my time. (my parents wish.)

I am a blockchain enthusiast, ethereum being my favourite. I am holding some coins & tokens. I am trading when I am in the mood & obviously when I need more money.

My passion is social media marketing. I don't like numbers, I don't care about quantity, but about quality.(less when it comes to crypto) I like creating relationships, talking with people, strangers. I like being updated with all kind of news.

I joined Steemit in June 2017. I started with 0 Steem Power. I worked hard to be visible here. I knew it's a long way but I did it. Steemit is paying now my rent & the other taxes.

I can't wait to finish my studies. I will be free from all points of view. Probably I will tattoo the Ethereum logo on my hand soon, or maybe on my big nose.

And this is me while my girlfriend is shopping.

18891848_1562962710456939_357177127365728153_o.jpg

-Thanks, @jwolf-

Sort:  

It is surprising that so many need help to give a compliment these days. This was an interesting topic, even though it should be common sense and natural to us...thanks.

WARNING! The comment below by @blockchainfiend leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

That's a really great post, good job writing it, what was your inspiration?

Nice content and great plan.....i appreciate your idea.....upvote done.... @jwolf

Quick question, how do you give compliment to someone who is under the weather/unwell to cheer them up?

This post of yours is gonna help me improve my relationship with other people..its very helpful..thank you

Lovely idea @jwolf ( ‘‿’ )

Good compliments make you feel good.some are mockery in guise..thanks for this @jwolf

Thanks for sharing is very nice compliments

This post has received a 4.93 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @jwolf.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62