There is so much good in the world

in #life6 years ago

15191441111471774251423.jpg

With political turmoil, natural disasters, crime and moral standards on the decline, it is often easier to focus on the negative and the bad that's happening in our lives. Optimism is a funny concept. @numbnut68 shared a post about perspective, which I resteemed yesterday. This made me think about our outlook in life and how we look at what is going on around us.

The old analogy of looking at a cup which is fild up to the halfway mark and you deciding whether it's half full or half empty holds true for what I am posting about.

I feel like going into a depression when its cloudy and rainy outside. Today was one of those days. I kept on looking up at the sky to see a blue patch of sky. When I saw it, my day was made. I decided to look at the good that the rain does instead of focusing on how I felt about it. My outlook changed and I learned to enjoy it, even if it was just for a while.

The other day I was in a taxi. The driver stopped to pick up another passanger, but there was no seat. A woman with a baby tried to balance in the taxi while it was driving. I saw this, and also saw that no one bothered to help her. I decided to give her my seat. The expression on her and other passangers faces were priceless (probably owing to on going and recent racial tensions displayed in the media). She smiled at me and and we chatted. She then proceeded to pay for my ride. I thought that she needs it more than me and I was about to deny it, then a little voice inside me said that I should let her. Sometimes we have to learn to accept generosity. After the trip I saw an old african man who looked a bit worn out physically and emotionally. I was prompted to give him the money the lady assisted me with. He stopped and looked surprised and thanked me profusely. I felt so good inside. I then thought back to what had happened. Because I decided to be kind, 3 people had a nice day and felt optimistic about the day.

Kindness, generosity, empathy and charity are always met with exaggerated rippling effects of these.

Sort:  

Great post Man, And an Amazing Photo aswell!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69947.15
ETH 3908.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71