Why do you mow the lawn on the weekend?!

in #life6 years ago

Mowing.jpg

If you work Monday to Friday, a 9 to 5 type of job, your weekends should be spent relaxing. You should have two full days to do whatever you want, but rest & relaxation should be at the top of the list. Of course that's not going always be the case, especially if you have children. But there is one thing I feel that should NEVER be done on your days off: mow the lawn. That should be reserved for the work week.

All my life I have seen people mow their lawn on the weekend. When my wife and I bought a house I promised myself I wouldn't do that. I would only mow the lawn during the work week as that activity is... work! Why should I waste the few hours I have outside of the work week to do more work? A part of me dies when I see other people mowing their lawn on their day off. It's possible they may actually like doing it, but then I recommend they seek help. I find it to be tedious. Maybe they are looking to get away from their significant other... then get out of that relationship.

Life shouldn't be about working to pay the bills, but somehow it is. I'm only given 48 hours to rest and do what I want, but sometimes you have to do things that may be considered work. Still, there are some things that can done during the work week and not on the weekend. Don't mow your lawn on your day(s) off.

This has been a public service announcement.

Untitled-4.jpg

Sort:  

Nice post. I think that society has inherited a fiction of "work" that probably comes from organized labor and unions rather than a mutual contract between employer and employee. The whole 9-5 thing makes no sense to me, and I prefer to acquire assets that generate income and live off that rather than to sell my hours for money. I have a finite number of hours on this planet and there is far more interesting experiences I want to have that don't involve "work". I do enjoy the satisfaction of completing a task and feeling that it helps define me, but the reality is that when someone comes up to you and says, "What do you do?" (meaning what is your job title or career of choice) that seldom really tells the story of who we really are. All of these crazy social norms that have come upon us are driven by the banking system for the most part and the constant need to keep you in debt. If you can break free of this early, then you can return to a life without the 9-5 treadmill. Do a search for Mr. Money Moustache on Google or check out www.choosefi.com for more information on how to escape this. Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76