The Awe Inspiring Resilience Of Horses - Random Thoughts

in #life5 years ago (edited)

04B71BA9EBBB407E98D7A95D0F65480E.jpeg

I’ve always had a love for horses, ever since I was a kid. I’m not really the saddle up and ride type though and while I grew up on a ranch (and currently live on one)... I’m not a cowgirl.. and never have been.

For me though there is just this connection to them... the fact that they are such magnificent creatures with such big hearts and personalities. I preferred to just spend my time wandering around the fields with them rather than riding them. Odd, I know.

While that is still something I very much do at home, I also get to spend my time with some horses that needs some extra love at work... and today Jolene was one of those horses.

0B2F9851058E4A628D7B7939C337FEA2.jpeg

My family owns an equestrian center where I run events for them. The location also boards horses as well as takes in rescues from time to time, that have no other place to go.

After a stressful morning of work, where everything that could go wrong did at an event.. I wandered over to see a rescue horse that had been brought in the day before.

Jolene was abandoned for reasons unknown. She was very skittish and was having a hard time adjusting to the other horses. So I took her out for a walk near the river and gave her a good bath and brushing.

After some love, she warmed right up. It amazes me the loyalty of animals.. even after being abandoned and who knows what else, she began to trust me and her anxiety went away. I find that quite inspiring, how after all she’s been through.. she still has a heart of gold.

D8C6EAB679684B619DCA5627AD0294C2.jpeg

Simply show the kindness and love they need, and they will return it ten fold.. that’s just the way horses are.

She even gave me some kisses while I was trying to get her to look at me for these horse selfies 😜 I think my face clearly shows I was not expecting that much love from her so quickly. 😄

DC96EFD196AE4D4E8EFE0100BE0FE826.jpeg

Anyways, Jolene just helped turn my bad day around.. and I hope in return I did the same for her. I recommend some animal therapy to all of you!

Hope you are having a wonderful weekend.

Much Love,

Justine

Sort:  

I am in a similar boat.

I find the coats beautiful, the curves and the power awe inspiring and the solitude amazing.
And yet, I am not ready to saddle 'em up and ride.

They are just such beautiful creatures ❤️

So powerful, but so gentle.. kind of crazy.

Riding is fun too, you normally have a true bond with your horse and it’s amazing to see the horse and it’s rider seem to just know their goals and work together to achieve them, but I just seem to prefer to talk to them and walk around with them like some sort of hippy child 😂

Hope you are doing well! ❤️

I grew up with horses and while I did ride, and even show a little bit (never really my thing), I was happiest just working around them and with them.

13Pam and mare B'ston Aug. 1969.jpg

This is my favorite photo from back then.

I also took in a rescue, on his way to a slaughterhouse. He was the sweetest horse, just had been jumped until his joints gave out. He was expensive to rehab and keep, but it was worth it. :))

Yes I’m happy just being around them as well. I love the photo! What a great memory ❤️

My daughter is currently working through some lessons so that she can begin showing. It’s amazing how much they are able to learn just by touch or “pressure” while riding etc. I find it quite fascinating.

they are such magnificent creatures with such big hearts and personalities

Sending you lots of Love dear

Thank you Nathan 🤗 right back at you!

Sometimes, Horse can also be romantic too 😄

Posted using Partiko Android

They sure can 😆

A horse with a heart of gold has got my vote :)

❤️❤️❤️ I figured you would approve! 😜

Congratulations @justineh! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies. Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Nice. If I may add one critique. If you were trying to showcase the horse, you shouldn't put yourself in the photo. Your overall resplendence will most certainly distract your audience from the subject matter at hand 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77